Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is the best Yorkshire pudding I've ever eaten, let alone made! That said I did change it a bit. I browned the sausages in 400F oven with a bit of oil in a cast iron skillet. Then added the batter to the hot pan. Also I made the batter with three eggs and added dried sage and a bit of herbs de Province. Served with brown gravy. So delicious and really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meagan Kellermann
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe added a lot of room for creativity, it's inexpensive and easy. Because I have no idea where I could get a high quality sausage without some kind of Italian or breakfast flavoringz--I certainly didn't want it to taste like either of those things, I chose a bratwurst. I added some cheddar cheese and a teaspoon of salt theb let it sit out for 20 minutes while I browned the sausage in the oven, 450F, ten minutes each side. I then poured the batter over the sausages and turned the oven down to 400F, baking it for 25 minutes. The flavor was really good; my three year old loved it. I served it like a summer brat with mustard and katchup. I would totally try this again in a smaller pan and if I could find another kind of sausage, with gravy, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Kellermann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abri4ever
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I don't know why but when mine came out of the oven it shrunk down so flat--not all puffed up like the other pics?? Also, the recipe didn't say to spray the baking pan so I didn't and it stuck to the pan terribly. So, next time I would do that for sure. It tasted pretty good so we're happy overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I make this for Christmas breakfast and serve it with maple syrup. We love it. I use a glass pie pan and arrange Brown and Serve sausages in a star sort of design radiating from the center. Everyone loves it cold the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pennie Fordham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very easy to follow! I use gluten free flour and rice milk. I use the Thermomix (bimbi) on 1 min setting 10 for the eggs, then add the other ingredients, including some mustard and a bit of salt and pepper, then give it another minute on setting 10. This gives a light frothy batter that rises really well. I also half cook the sausage in the baking dish as it makes sure the batter in going into a really hot pan. It works well with any gluten free sausages:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have a 75 year old recipe of this. The trick to end up with the "toads" in the hole is to put breakfast sausages in the dish when the oven is cold. Heat up the oven. When the oven reaches temperature, pour the batter over the sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe, I added in some salt, pepper and a couple teaspoons of chopped parsley and it made the whole thing a lot tastier :) It was crispy on the outside, but a little clumpy on the inside for my taste. In future I'll use less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I think it would've been better if I had the ingredients for onion gravy, because this dish is very bland. I'm giving it a four since it still turned okay..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Wow! this is wonderful! I halved the recipe because I only had a few little party weenies. Being that the little weenies don't make much grease, I added a tablespoon of butter to the base. Yummo! I also used plain rice milk because that's all i have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
i need to add more flavor to the batter, but i dont know what to use. i keep hearing about this onion gravy but i cant find it. does it have a more exact name? my family and i ended up using gravy for more flavor after it was cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States