Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abri4ever
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I don't know why but when mine came out of the oven it shrunk down so flat--not all puffed up like the other pics?? Also, the recipe didn't say to spray the baking pan so I didn't and it stuck to the pan terribly. So, next time I would do that for sure. It tasted pretty good so we're happy overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I make this for Christmas breakfast and serve it with maple syrup. We love it. I use a glass pie pan and arrange Brown and Serve sausages in a star sort of design radiating from the center. Everyone loves it cold the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very easy to follow! I use gluten free flour and rice milk. I use the Thermomix (bimbi) on 1 min setting 10 for the eggs, then add the other ingredients, including some mustard and a bit of salt and pepper, then give it another minute on setting 10. This gives a light frothy batter that rises really well. I also half cook the sausage in the baking dish as it makes sure the batter in going into a really hot pan. It works well with any gluten free sausages:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have a 75 year old recipe of this. The trick to end up with the "toads" in the hole is to put breakfast sausages in the dish when the oven is cold. Heat up the oven. When the oven reaches temperature, pour the batter over the sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe, I added in some salt, pepper and a couple teaspoons of chopped parsley and it made the whole thing a lot tastier :) It was crispy on the outside, but a little clumpy on the inside for my taste. In future I'll use less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I think it would've been better if I had the ingredients for onion gravy, because this dish is very bland. I'm giving it a four since it still turned okay..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Wow! this is wonderful! I halved the recipe because I only had a few little party weenies. Being that the little weenies don't make much grease, I added a tablespoon of butter to the base. Yummo! I also used plain rice milk because that's all i have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
i need to add more flavor to the batter, but i dont know what to use. i keep hearing about this onion gravy but i cant find it. does it have a more exact name? my family and i ended up using gravy for more flavor after it was cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
my English husband loved this, but i changed the directions slightly to cook it the way his mum does in England: after browning the sausages, pour about 3tbsp peanut or canola oil into the pan along with the sausages (make sure it's oven proof) and place it in the preheated oven until the oil is smoking hot; pour the batter over the sausages and quickly place the pan back into the hot oven, bake as directed (altho mine took 40 minutes to be cooked properly). We served with Colcannon (from this site) and onion gravy. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGob
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this last night and it was GREAT! First, I preheated my oven, with the casserole dish and a good amount of olive oil, in to preheat as well. I browned my sausage on the stove, then just opened the oven, plopped my sausage in and poured the batter on top. This is great by itself, but missing something...you have to have the onion gravy with it! It's a must! It was my first time making both, and I was SO pleased by how well they came out! The onion gravy recipe I used was with a recipe for Bangers and Mash (in case you want it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States