Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I make these all the time . I don't have a cookie cuter so I use a shot glass which makes a perfect fit. 1.low heat 2.punch hole with shot glass in to center of UNTOASTED BREAD 3. butter pan 4.lay toast in pan and break open egg to drop into the middle 5. cook to the point to where you can move around toast in the pan 6.drop butter in a open spot and flip other side on to butter 7.cook and eat YUM! use any seasoning you want salt pepper whatever and if your going to put cheese on it wait untill you cook the 1st side flip then lay cheese on already cooked side ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is NOT toad in a hole......it is made with yorkshire pudding & sausages & is a very old English dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This recipe did not work for me. I found it impossible to cook the egg enough so that it was safe to give to a childz. You can't flip it because of the cheese, so the egg never fully cooks on the other side. I tried again turning down the heat, but again the bread burns before the egg even comes close to being fully cooked. The third time I tried this, I left off the cheese and just added the egg, so that I could flip it and have a fully cooked egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Awww memories... We called these Bullseye & 1 eyed jack. Gosh soo many names for this recipe. Hole in one, egg boat just to name a few.... Haven't tried the cheese. I always butter both sides of bread & fry for 1 minute on each side then add the egg to the hole & cook for about 3 minutes & turn it over. Add salt & pepper..... Really good & kids can make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe but be sure to put bread in skillet then crack the egg into the hole IMMEDATELY after puting bread in skillet. Do not cook bread AT ALL before adding the egg, you will have a burnt toad in the hole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastePeachesNCream

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tried this because it reminded me that my dad would butter and fry bread when I was young and we were on camping trips. I buttered both sides of the bread then cut out the circle. Put the egg in the hole and salted and peppered some. Because I don't like my eggs runny, I covered the pan with a lid to help cook the top of the egg some. After the bottom was browned I flipped the bread over, placed the cheese on top and covered the pan again to help melt the cheese. It wasn't bad at all! The crispy fried bread really is what makes it taste better than just egg and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Delicious! I cut this down to one serving for breakfast and waited until the egg was cooked before adding the cheese. Great with a side of Canadian bacon and OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I've been making these for years, use cookie cutters of various shapes for fun with the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Been making Egg in the Hole (same thing as Toad in the Hole) for years, minus the cheese. Never cook eggs on high. They require a low to medium heat. These will burn if cooked on high. Readers have said that you can't flip these, which is, of course, true, but you can put a lid on them and cook on low heat until done to your liking, or do what I do, add the cheese after cooking the egg. The cheese will melt (if not cut thickly). My grandkids love these and often ask for them when they visit. Great with various herbs on top for the more sophisticated taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe (I made them this morning for brunch) but it is not a classic Toad-in-a-hole which is comprised of sausages quickly browned in a skillet, covered with Yorkshire pudding batter, and finished in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States