Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I made these for a holiday breakfast for my family- my parents and friends loved them! Easy to make and really unusual. Great for vegetarians and almost-vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I've been making these for years, use cookie cutters of various shapes for fun with the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This recipe did not work for me. I found it impossible to cook the egg enough so that it was safe to give to a childz. You can't flip it because of the cheese, so the egg never fully cooks on the other side. I tried again turning down the heat, but again the bread burns before the egg even comes close to being fully cooked. The third time I tried this, I left off the cheese and just added the egg, so that I could flip it and have a fully cooked egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
My mother has used this recipe forever! It is GREAT! My nieces and nephews absolutely love it! It is not hard at all to make, the worst cook can sucessfully make this! :-) We call it Eggs in a Basket though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I looked for this recipe remembering my Grandmother making this years ago! This is how I did it for my kids to make sure the eggs were cooked... Butter both sides of the bread, Cut out with cookie cutter shape. Then I put the "frame" in the hot skillet. Crack the egg into the shape. Let it cook on low to medium heat for about 5 minutes. Then I flipped the whole thing and let it cook on the other side. Then I added a slice of cheese and the cut out shape on top. After the cheese melted, I served it to my kids. The eggs were totally cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
The recipe worked great, but I have admit, what I'm really curious about is how a lady of only 55 managed to have not only grand-children but great-grand children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
My mother always made these for me as a kid, although she calls them "Powder Puff Eggs." We use a small juice glass to cut the hole in the bread. We have never put cheese on ours, but it sounds like a good idea. It's also fun (and tasty) to butter and fry the "hole" you cut from the bread too. I also recommend flipping and frying your "Toad in a Hole" on both sides to cook the egg sufficiently for kids. For those adults who prefer their eggs "over easy," this is a delicious and easy way to make them. When you cut into the bread, the yolk spreads to the bread. You must try this simple homey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanseaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I thought it was a cute idea. My nine year old said "what is the big deal, next time just toast some bread and make me an egg".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Awww memories... We called these Bullseye & 1 eyed jack. Gosh soo many names for this recipe. Hole in one, egg boat just to name a few.... Haven't tried the cheese. I always butter both sides of bread & fry for 1 minute on each side then add the egg to the hole & cook for about 3 minutes & turn it over. Add salt & pepper..... Really good & kids can make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Awesome...I did flip and cook both sides. My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States