Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
My grandma Ginny from Oxfordshire always called this "egg in a toast." Toad in a hole is actually a terrine of sausages baked in dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I suppose my grandmother first made this for me - minus the cheese. My dad called it toad in a hole but I've been corrected by an English friend. I still make this for my grown daughter but I scramble the egg since she doesn't like eggs any other way. Great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is NOT toad in a hole. It is Chicken in a Basket. Toad in a hole is Yorkshire Pudding. Except for the wrong name, a delicious treat for the kids on a Saturday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StephS.
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was really good and easy. I used a shot glass for the cutout. Added butter to the pan at medium/low heat, toasted the bread and cracked the egg. Once I was able to move it and see that it was nicely browned on one side I flipped it onto a little more butter (not sure if this was entirely necessary) then cooked till the egg was hard, I don't like mine runny. Only then did I add Colby Jack cheese. With a little S&P and Cholula and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephS.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These were great! The whole family loved them. I did have to flip them though in order to cook the egg all the way without burning the bread. Even better with a thick slice of Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I just made one of these for breakfast, and it is awesome! I actually toasted another piece of bread and made a sandwich out of it. Probably not healthy at all, but for a treat it's good! I am not sure why people are having trouble making this...as long as you let it set for long enough on low-medium heat you can easily flip it to toast the other side. Mine came out over-hard, but that's how I like them! :) Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love these. Really buttery but good for an every now & then treat. I don't use the cheese...it doesn't need it. Just a little salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I grew up on these too but we called them Egg's Nests. Love them! I believe Toad in the Hole is sausages in Yorkshire puddings. It must be the several generations that have mixed up the names. Love them all!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are great, I have had them since i was a child. To the reviewer who said they were impossible to cook the egg because you cant flip it because of the cheese: you dont put the cheese on until after you flip it, that way you can cook both sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
THESE WERE DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States