Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Tried it but next time will use thicker slices of toast and season the eggs better. Might not make again tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe only produces burnt bread and underdone eggs. You should not let the bread toast first, you should flip the eggs, and you should use medium heat. Also, this dish is called "Eggs in a Basket". "Toad in a Hole" is a British dish with sausage baked in Yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My mom used to make these for me when I was a kid, they're fun when you're a kid but they are a little bland. Also on a side note these are actually called "eggs in a basket", toad in a hole is a traditional english dish made by adding sausage to yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet DJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I have a slight bend on this recipe others may want to try. Instead of buttering the bread and frying it, I have found that stirring up a couple eggs with a fork in a cake pan and then dipping the bread in the egg mixture (like you would for french toast) and then frying it makes a much moister and easier to fry Toad In A Hole. I make the whole in the middle after its in the skillet and fry it along with the toast. Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I haven't made these in a long time but my dad used to make them for me, he called them Birdies in a Nest... Although we never used cheese in them, might have to give that a try as my daughter LOVES her cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is great...We called them " Frog in a Pond ". My kids loved them and my Grands do also! For those that like their eggs a little more done, butter both sides of bread before cutting out the hole, crack egg carefully into hole and fry for bout 2 minutes. then turn the bread over carefully and fry for about another 2 minutes. In the meantime, be frying the circle cutout along side the bread/egg combo.It's just big enough for little hands to pick up and eat on its own or to use to dip into the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Sankovich Roney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove Hill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Great easy morning breakfast! I skipped on the cheese that way I could cook the egg all the way by flipping the toast and egg half way through! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
It's fun to cut out special shapes for my daughter. Use thick sliced bread for best results. Fast, fun, and family-friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApronStrings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Quick and easy. It turned out great. I used a small glass to make the cut. I also like my yolks to be cooked thru, so I broke the yolk slightly and cooked it on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I love these when I can ever get around to making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States