Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Our whole family loves these! Perfect summer dinner when the chickens are laying eggs like crazy. Here's some words to those that are not so favorable or had some trouble however... A half pint canning jar or glass will give you a good sized hole. Save the cut out bit, also buttered and grilled, to serve perched on top for dunking. In order to do this dish justice the yolks must be soft cooked. Only use the best quality, fresh-fresh-FRESH eggs from either your own chickens or a neighbor's. The key is to use eggs that were laid earlier that day. Supermarket eggs should never be used! As I only use the best eggs laid that same day for this dish I have no problem serving it to my children. We've never had an issue. Pumpernickel bread is heavenly in this! The order in the pan should be bread then egg so that the egg is held in place. I do flip mine before I top it with cheese but this takes some skill, practice and a good spatula. As to the name, it must be a regional thing because this is traditionally considered toad in a hole here at least. The British toad in a hole also looks delicious so we will try it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This brought back lots of memories! Yhere are lots of variations, spreading the bread with garlic or herb butter before frying, drizling the sauce of choice on the bread before buttering, using two thin bread slices to 'sandwich' bacon (after cutting holes) etc. etc. What I mainly wanted to say was to those people who want to end up with runny yolks: Medium heat, fry the bread on one side and turn first, then - when you crack your egg, hold it over the hole and allow only some of the white to drop into the hole, then wait for it to cook and change color, before you add the rest of the egg. This keeps the yolk off the direct heat of the skillet. Then, when you add the cheese, either try adding a little water to the skillet surface and covering with a lid (this is my favourite but it takes a little practice to get the timing right) or brown the cheese under a hot Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. We called these "Bird nests" when I was a kid. I still make them for my kids, and we even put maple syrup on them. I also butter both sides of the bread. I've never tried them with cheese before. I would flip it first and then put the cheese on it. Otherwise the egg would be too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We called these "frogs in the pond." We used a cheese glass (you used to buy processed cheese spread in the glass jar and then keep the glass for juice) and grilled the round center with the rest of the dish then use that to dip in the egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We call this "bird in a nest". It's very quick and simple to make, we don't add any cheese. Once the egg is cooked one side you can flip it over if you like you eggs harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My mom made this for us 5 kids growing up-we loved them! We called them "Egg in a basket".I continued to make them the rest of my life and for my daughter & still do frequently.Make your hole with a juice glass,butter one side plus the bisquit holes,drop in your egg,season with S & P,or anything else,medium heat,flip it and cook to your desired like.There's nothing hard about this other than keeping an eye on how you want your egg cooked.Its a whimsical breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I make these at hunting camp for the hunters. I use slice the butter and put it down right before the bread then put the egg in. The butter flavors the toast and cooks the egg. Perfect they get their toast and egg all in one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
OK, I have made this for a long time. My kids loved them when they were small. We call it "egg in a frame". Butter both sides of the bread before cutting out the hole. I scramble the egg before adding it to the bread. Cook on one side until done to your liking then flip and cook other side. Add whatever items you would like and season it to your liking. To all the people who rated it 1 star, it's a pretty easy item to make so if you have to follow a recipe to the "T" maybe you shouldn't be cooking. Use some common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I just tried this recipe ... I used Nutty Oat bread, buttered both sides and cut a whole in the middle. I then grilled first side, flipped it over, added the egg, salt and peppering the egg. I grilled the flipped side of bread shortly then covered the pan until egg was almost done. Flipped the bread again to insure that the egg white was set. I did add a slice of American cheese, but felt it was too cheesy. Next time, I think I will add a little shredded cheese (cheddar, swiss, or marblejack). This was a little bland ... need to season the egg with some kind of herb seasoning or a pinch of 6 pepper blend or hot sauce! I will try this recipe again with my own variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
LOL, I made these with a heart shaped cookie cutter., alas after I put on the cheese you couldn't see the hearts anymore. I made them with home made bread and this was truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle DeCaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States