Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I have been eating this since I was very young. My grandpa cooks it for me and he uses challah bread and calls it "egg in the eye" it is so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I love this comfort food but I don't use cheese. Also, it is called "Toad in the Hole" in America, it's just not the British "Toad in the Hole" so lighten up people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Made these all growing up and love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Long Moffet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I hadn't made this in years..grilled a little onion..grilled some home baked challah..tore the holes..my husband ate and enjoyed..love in a skillet. thank you from a woman on a south Texas ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is called "eggy in the basket". Toad in the Hole is sausage in Yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Berglund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I liked it, but my 10 y.o. didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is an ok recipe, however, somewhere along the line its name has had an identity crisis. "Toad in the Hole" is an English dish referring to yorkshire pudding made with sausage in it. The English name for this dish is properly "Eggie in a Basket". I am unfamiliar with what the traditional American nicknames might be, but this recipe should be relabeled with an more accurate title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Not toad in a hole... I believe you meant to say "Egg in a hole" also called Egg in a basket or Spit in the eye. That being said... I do this all the time best with Rye bread, although I've never tried it with cheese, I'll have to try that next..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Kid tested, mother approved. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe. I first had toad in a hole at the Applewood restaurant in Pigeon Forge about 25 years ago. I'd like to correct the respondent who said that toad-in-a-hole is made with Yorkshire pudding. She is confusing toad-in-A-hole with toad-in-THE-hole. Two different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith F Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States