Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I made these for a holiday breakfast for my family- my parents and friends loved them! Easy to make and really unusual. Great for vegetarians and almost-vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I've been making these for years, use cookie cutters of various shapes for fun with the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
My mother has used this recipe forever! It is GREAT! My nieces and nephews absolutely love it! It is not hard at all to make, the worst cook can sucessfully make this! :-) We call it Eggs in a Basket though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I looked for this recipe remembering my Grandmother making this years ago! This is how I did it for my kids to make sure the eggs were cooked... Butter both sides of the bread, Cut out with cookie cutter shape. Then I put the "frame" in the hot skillet. Crack the egg into the shape. Let it cook on low to medium heat for about 5 minutes. Then I flipped the whole thing and let it cook on the other side. Then I added a slice of cheese and the cut out shape on top. After the cheese melted, I served it to my kids. The eggs were totally cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
My mother always made these for me as a kid, although she calls them "Powder Puff Eggs." We use a small juice glass to cut the hole in the bread. We have never put cheese on ours, but it sounds like a good idea. It's also fun (and tasty) to butter and fry the "hole" you cut from the bread too. I also recommend flipping and frying your "Toad in a Hole" on both sides to cook the egg sufficiently for kids. For those adults who prefer their eggs "over easy," this is a delicious and easy way to make them. When you cut into the bread, the yolk spreads to the bread. You must try this simple homey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanseaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Awesome...I did flip and cook both sides. My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I am confused, why is this called "toad in a hole" The hole part I get but not the toad? Can someone help me figure this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I used to love these as a kid. Never had it with cheese. This is the only way I ever had "over-easy" eggs until I was in college!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Such a great comfort recipe--my dad used to make it for me and called it "One-Eyed Eggs." I usually cook the bread with the egg on both sides, flipping it after a couple minutes. Also, if you find you are over-cooking the egg by waiting for the cheese to melt, try sprinkling a couple tablespoons of water on the frying pan (not too close to the bread!) and covering it for twenty or thirty seconds--the steam will melt the cheese pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Love these! My Daddy always would make them for me in the morning before I went to school. We called them "Egg In The Hole" and didn't use the cheddar, but it is a very nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States