Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My kids love these, just as much as my sib and I did. My mom called them Eggs in the Window, and we fry them on both sides--no cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My kids loved this recipe. A great twist for the old stand- by of toast and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a good recipe. My kids all liked it so that was a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
5 stars for easiness and creativity! Because there is nothing extravagant about toast and egg, I can't get myself to give it above a 4. When I have kids one day though, this is how I will introduce them to cooking, and I will certainly use this method often until then since it is fun :-) Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HanakoLei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
just made this and used your recipe for directions - it turned out deliciously! LOVED it! Thank you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My kids love this breakfast. Me, too. Always a comfort since childhood, when my mom would make it for me. I salt/pepper it real good and sometimes, if I have any leftover, I'll use leftover spread from Garlic Bread Fantastique for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I had recently seen the film, "V for Vendetta," in which, a similar dish is called, "eggy in a basket." Maybe, it's slightly different, but I think it's a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Jecheon, Ch'ungch'ong-Bukto, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I grew up eating this as "eggs in a nest". My husband had "gasp" NEVER had it! I did flip it after a cooking a few minutes on one side like others did before adding the cheese. My husband likes his eggs over medium and this way you can get the egg white cooked, but, still leave the yolk "runny". This is also a great recipe to make if you have a crowd. You can just pull out your griddle and line them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Always a change of pace dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tried this because it reminded me that my dad would butter and fry bread when I was young and we were on camping trips. I buttered both sides of the bread then cut out the circle. Put the egg in the hole and salted and peppered some. Because I don't like my eggs runny, I covered the pan with a lid to help cook the top of the egg some. After the bottom was browned I flipped the bread over, placed the cheese on top and covered the pan again to help melt the cheese. It wasn't bad at all! The crispy fried bread really is what makes it taste better than just egg and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States