Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Mmmmmm. Never heard of it with cheese over the top before. But, it's good and that's why I had to try it. I used American instead of Cheddar. I do agree, however, that Toad in a Hole uses Yorkshire Pudding. I'll have to try that, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I dont get the purpose of these. I made them, and while it tasted good, I just felt like it took more time then frying an egg and toasting bread. I also had to flip mine to get it to cook evenly. It is really cute, but no worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe (I made them this morning for brunch) but it is not a classic Toad-in-a-hole which is comprised of sausages quickly browned in a skillet, covered with Yorkshire pudding batter, and finished in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Kids and hubby really liked this....used a butterfly cookie cutter instead of a round....more Spring-y looking....lol....cute idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
So easy and so delicious, I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a very simple but much loved egg dish that we've been making in our home for years, but we leave out the cheese. So, basically it's just egg and toast but better somehow. It is not, however, toad-in-the-hole which is a British name for sausage in Yorkshire pudding recipe. Quite different. We just call this Egg-in-the-hole. Kids and adults love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Easy and delicious. I've been making these since I was a kid myself. We always referred to them as Eggs in a Nest. I prefer to omit the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Love this...I've been making this for ages.I made it on Friday after seeing it here...I Cut a heart out of the bread and put it in my panini press once the bread was almost toasted I added some butter in the hole and the my egg and the lowerd the top of the press to lightly cook the top of the egg so that I didnt have to flip the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is NOT toad in a hole......it is made with yorkshire pudding & sausages & is a very old English dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I make these all the time . I don't have a cookie cuter so I use a shot glass which makes a perfect fit. 1.low heat 2.punch hole with shot glass in to center of UNTOASTED BREAD 3. butter pan 4.lay toast in pan and break open egg to drop into the middle 5. cook to the point to where you can move around toast in the pan 6.drop butter in a open spot and flip other side on to butter 7.cook and eat YUM! use any seasoning you want salt pepper whatever and if your going to put cheese on it wait untill you cook the 1st side flip then lay cheese on already cooked side ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States