Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love these. Really buttery but good for an every now & then treat. I don't use the cheese...it doesn't need it. Just a little salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I grew up on these too but we called them Egg's Nests. Love them! I believe Toad in the Hole is sausages in Yorkshire puddings. It must be the several generations that have mixed up the names. Love them all!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are great, I have had them since i was a child. To the reviewer who said they were impossible to cook the egg because you cant flip it because of the cheese: you dont put the cheese on until after you flip it, that way you can cook both sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
THESE WERE DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I make this all the time! my husband and kids love it, its a regular breakfast on the weekends. I do add some kind of cooked meat (bacon, sausage patties, or ham) and add another slice of bread without egg to make it a whole sort of meal in one sandwich. After I fry the egg and add cheese I top that with the meat and bread then flip it over and toast that side like making a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this for my breakfast... simple and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've been making eggs in a hole for my family some 60 plus years. Always a welcome breakfast treat even though they've been served umpteen times and more! Brit household here, and for us, Toad in a hole, or Toad in the hole, is sausages lightly browned, then baked up in yorkshire batter. Its funny, and quite interesting, how the old favourites end up with so many different names!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
In one of the pictures I saw French Bread. So I bought a really holey bread and cut in 6-1 1/2" slices. (I did make more holes in the bread, try not to remove the bread though) I scrambled the eggs and added shredded Cheddar. I put all the bread in a pan and poured the egg mixture in each piece of bread. Sprinkle both sides with salt and pepper after browned and eggs are cooked. I brought this to a football tailgate and heated it up on the grill. Served it with bacon on the side. Delish! And rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My mom called them "Eggs in a Frame"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Mmmmmm. Never heard of it with cheese over the top before. But, it's good and that's why I had to try it. I used American instead of Cheddar. I do agree, however, that Toad in a Hole uses Yorkshire Pudding. I'll have to try that, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States