Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I just made one of these for breakfast, and it is awesome! I actually toasted another piece of bread and made a sandwich out of it. Probably not healthy at all, but for a treat it's good! I am not sure why people are having trouble making this...as long as you let it set for long enough on low-medium heat you can easily flip it to toast the other side. Mine came out over-hard, but that's how I like them! :) Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love these. Really buttery but good for an every now & then treat. I don't use the cheese...it doesn't need it. Just a little salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I grew up on these too but we called them Egg's Nests. Love them! I believe Toad in the Hole is sausages in Yorkshire puddings. It must be the several generations that have mixed up the names. Love them all!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are great, I have had them since i was a child. To the reviewer who said they were impossible to cook the egg because you cant flip it because of the cheese: you dont put the cheese on until after you flip it, that way you can cook both sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
THESE WERE DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I make this all the time! my husband and kids love it, its a regular breakfast on the weekends. I do add some kind of cooked meat (bacon, sausage patties, or ham) and add another slice of bread without egg to make it a whole sort of meal in one sandwich. After I fry the egg and add cheese I top that with the meat and bread then flip it over and toast that side like making a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this for my breakfast... simple and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've been making eggs in a hole for my family some 60 plus years. Always a welcome breakfast treat even though they've been served umpteen times and more! Brit household here, and for us, Toad in a hole, or Toad in the hole, is sausages lightly browned, then baked up in yorkshire batter. Its funny, and quite interesting, how the old favourites end up with so many different names!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
In one of the pictures I saw French Bread. So I bought a really holey bread and cut in 6-1 1/2" slices. (I did make more holes in the bread, try not to remove the bread though) I scrambled the eggs and added shredded Cheddar. I put all the bread in a pan and poured the egg mixture in each piece of bread. Sprinkle both sides with salt and pepper after browned and eggs are cooked. I brought this to a football tailgate and heated it up on the grill. Served it with bacon on the side. Delish! And rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My mom called them "Eggs in a Frame"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States