Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Sometimes, food should be fun. This is fun food. I used a shot glass to cut the hole in the uncooked bread, toasted one side, flipped it and put the egg in the hole, then flipped it again to cook the top of the egg. Good times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
My dad used to make these for us when we were a kid too! Great memories. We used to call them "Eggs in a basket". Easy to make smaller portion or larger portion for a group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
We called them Egg Nests. I haven't seen that name used yet. My mom made these for us, I made them for my kids and now my kids are making them for their kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
My 9 year was not as impressed as I thought she would be. She has a new thing about eggs and not eating them because of the brown thin edges so I thought this might be a change for her. Still didn't eat it. I thought it was good and simple but I still prefer making breakfast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
My grandma Ginny from Oxfordshire always called this "egg in a toast." Toad in a hole is actually a terrine of sausages baked in dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I suppose my grandmother first made this for me - minus the cheese. My dad called it toad in a hole but I've been corrected by an English friend. I still make this for my grown daughter but I scramble the egg since she doesn't like eggs any other way. Great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is NOT toad in a hole. It is Chicken in a Basket. Toad in a hole is Yorkshire Pudding. Except for the wrong name, a delicious treat for the kids on a Saturday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stuffsalush
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was really good and easy. I used a shot glass for the cutout. Added butter to the pan at medium/low heat, toasted the bread and cracked the egg. Once I was able to move it and see that it was nicely browned on one side I flipped it onto a little more butter (not sure if this was entirely necessary) then cooked till the egg was hard, I don't like mine runny. Only then did I add Colby Jack cheese. With a little S&P and Cholula and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These were great! The whole family loved them. I did have to flip them though in order to cook the egg all the way without burning the bread. Even better with a thick slice of Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I just made one of these for breakfast, and it is awesome! I actually toasted another piece of bread and made a sandwich out of it. Probably not healthy at all, but for a treat it's good! I am not sure why people are having trouble making this...as long as you let it set for long enough on low-medium heat you can easily flip it to toast the other side. Mine came out over-hard, but that's how I like them! :) Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States