Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My mom used to make these for me when I was a kid, they're fun when you're a kid but they are a little bland. Also on a side note these are actually called "eggs in a basket", toad in a hole is a traditional english dish made by adding sausage to yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet DJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I have a slight bend on this recipe others may want to try. Instead of buttering the bread and frying it, I have found that stirring up a couple eggs with a fork in a cake pan and then dipping the bread in the egg mixture (like you would for french toast) and then frying it makes a much moister and easier to fry Toad In A Hole. I make the whole in the middle after its in the skillet and fry it along with the toast. Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I haven't made these in a long time but my dad used to make them for me, he called them Birdies in a Nest... Although we never used cheese in them, might have to give that a try as my daughter LOVES her cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is great...We called them " Frog in a Pond ". My kids loved them and my Grands do also! For those that like their eggs a little more done, butter both sides of bread before cutting out the hole, crack egg carefully into hole and fry for bout 2 minutes. then turn the bread over carefully and fry for about another 2 minutes. In the meantime, be frying the circle cutout along side the bread/egg combo.It's just big enough for little hands to pick up and eat on its own or to use to dip into the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Sankovich Roney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove Hill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Great easy morning breakfast! I skipped on the cheese that way I could cook the egg all the way by flipping the toast and egg half way through! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
It's fun to cut out special shapes for my daughter. Use thick sliced bread for best results. Fast, fun, and family-friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApronStrings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Quick and easy. It turned out great. I used a small glass to make the cut. I also like my yolks to be cooked thru, so I broke the yolk slightly and cooked it on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I love these when I can ever get around to making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Sometimes, food should be fun. This is fun food. I used a shot glass to cut the hole in the uncooked bread, toasted one side, flipped it and put the egg in the hole, then flipped it again to cook the top of the egg. Good times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
My dad used to make these for us when we were a kid too! Great memories. We used to call them "Eggs in a basket". Easy to make smaller portion or larger portion for a group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States