Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was so good! I buttered both sides of the bread & flipped it so that both sides of bread were grilled & egg was cooked over easy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Simple and yum - a favourite from childhood though I never had cheese with mine. To Diane and anyone else who says this is not Toad in the Hole, this is toad in the hole (at least it is in Australia). I'm also familiar with the old English recipe but to many, many Aussies (and possibly other nationalities) this is the Toad in the Hole recipe we grew up with so giving it a low rating because you're not familiar with this version is not really fair. You might even find you quite like this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I just made this recipe, and it was amazing! Instead of letting the egg cook through on its own (I'm impatient) I simply put on the bread round then flipped it. It's a bit messier, and the yolk broke, but the rest of the uncooked white coated the underside of the bread and made it fry just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Great recipe. I made a slight modification. I toasted the bread in the toaster, poached the eggs then made a poached egg sandwich on toast. Oh yeah I left off the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I use bacon grease instead of butter.. and top it off with the crumbled bacon.. Mmm mm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFx11
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My mother used to make this for me all the time as a kid. We never had a name for them, but they were always a great addition to the breakfast table. We also used the fun-shaped cookie cutters, like Christmas trees in the winter time, hearts in February, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Granby, Missouri, USA
Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Our whole family loves these! Perfect summer dinner when the chickens are laying eggs like crazy. Here's some words to those that are not so favorable or had some trouble however... A half pint canning jar or glass will give you a good sized hole. Save the cut out bit, also buttered and grilled, to serve perched on top for dunking. In order to do this dish justice the yolks must be soft cooked. Only use the best quality, fresh-fresh-FRESH eggs from either your own chickens or a neighbor's. The key is to use eggs that were laid earlier that day. Supermarket eggs should never be used! As I only use the best eggs laid that same day for this dish I have no problem serving it to my children. We've never had an issue. Pumpernickel bread is heavenly in this! The order in the pan should be bread then egg so that the egg is held in place. I do flip mine before I top it with cheese but this takes some skill, practice and a good spatula. As to the name, it must be a regional thing because this is traditionally considered toad in a hole here at least. The British toad in a hole also looks delicious so we will try it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This brought back lots of memories! Yhere are lots of variations, spreading the bread with garlic or herb butter before frying, drizling the sauce of choice on the bread before buttering, using two thin bread slices to 'sandwich' bacon (after cutting holes) etc. etc. What I mainly wanted to say was to those people who want to end up with runny yolks: Medium heat, fry the bread on one side and turn first, then - when you crack your egg, hold it over the hole and allow only some of the white to drop into the hole, then wait for it to cook and change color, before you add the rest of the egg. This keeps the yolk off the direct heat of the skillet. Then, when you add the cheese, either try adding a little water to the skillet surface and covering with a lid (this is my favourite but it takes a little practice to get the timing right) or brown the cheese under a hot Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. We called these "Bird nests" when I was a kid. I still make them for my kids, and we even put maple syrup on them. I also butter both sides of the bread. I've never tried them with cheese before. I would flip it first and then put the cheese on it. Otherwise the egg would be too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We called these "frogs in the pond." We used a cheese glass (you used to buy processed cheese spread in the glass jar and then keep the glass for juice) and grilled the round center with the rest of the dish then use that to dip in the egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States