Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I didn't know that this concoction actually had a name until I found it on this website. I used to eat these when I was a poor college student. I agree w/ another reviewer who said that this recipe is good for people who have trouble flipping their eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My son had fun making this. He doesn't like eggs much, but he liked this a lot. He also liked using a cookie cutter to cut out the hole, and sprinkling cheese (I used shredded mozzarella) on top of the bread. I used garlic butter on my slice--yum. For people who had trouble flipping or making this: butter both sides of the bread, and dab a bit of butter on the griddle through the hole in the bread (else the egg may stick). Put the egg in as soon as possible, and then cover with a lid. Use only med-high heat. Note that larger cookie cutter shapes work best--my son wanted to use the one shaped like the gingerbread man, but that probably would not have held the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. I buttered both sides of the bread (I used Dutch Hearth sliced French bread - slightly thicker bread seems to hold the egg better). Slapped the bread on the grill and then cracked the egg into it. Cooked on lower heat so the bread didn't burn. I haven't quite mastered the flipping over of the bread - the egg gets a little messy - but it still tastes good. I haven't tried it with the cheese on top yet. Overall, an easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Been eating this since early 70s. I've always called them "egg in a basket." I like some of the other names listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Horseleach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Been making Egg in the Hole (same thing as Toad in the Hole) for years, minus the cheese. Never cook eggs on high. They require a low to medium heat. These will burn if cooked on high. Readers have said that you can't flip these, which is, of course, true, but you can put a lid on them and cook on low heat until done to your liking, or do what I do, add the cheese after cooking the egg. The cheese will melt (if not cut thickly). My grandkids love these and often ask for them when they visit. Great with various herbs on top for the more sophisticated taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I also had these growing up. My mom made these for us, except we called them 'Frogs on a log'. Don't forget to toast the 'hole'. We always liked eating the little round pieces of toast. Thanks for the AWESOME flashback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this for my husband he loved them. They are very simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Cute recipe. Family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Mixed reviews over here...my boyfriend, who is British, loved these..I didn't very much. The toast ended up going soggy on me, therefore defeating the whole definition of 'toast'. It is a cute recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Wow this one took me back, Eggs in a Hold from my parts. This was one of the first recipes my mom taught me out of her Betty Crocker. I butter both sides of the bread just like with my grilled cheese sammys. Never tried the cheese before though, nice touch. Great to do on a camping trip! (Often have ^^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoncalla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States