Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Always a change of pace dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tried this because it reminded me that my dad would butter and fry bread when I was young and we were on camping trips. I buttered both sides of the bread then cut out the circle. Put the egg in the hole and salted and peppered some. Because I don't like my eggs runny, I covered the pan with a lid to help cook the top of the egg some. After the bottom was browned I flipped the bread over, placed the cheese on top and covered the pan again to help melt the cheese. It wasn't bad at all! The crispy fried bread really is what makes it taste better than just egg and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This recipe was in the Betty Crocker Children's Cookbook that I got from my Grandma Cross in 1961 and was called "eggs in a frame". I loved it growing up and so did my kids. The recipe in the cookbook says to butter and brown both sides of the bread, and cover the pan so the egg will cook properly. Such a nice memory, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Wow, this recipe does bring back memories. Its funny how we all call it different things. In Kansas we call it eggs in a basket. lol There shouldn't be any reason why people can't cook this. Its so easy and taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
These are fun and a nice way to do something a little different for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I didn't know that this concoction actually had a name until I found it on this website. I used to eat these when I was a poor college student. I agree w/ another reviewer who said that this recipe is good for people who have trouble flipping their eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My son had fun making this. He doesn't like eggs much, but he liked this a lot. He also liked using a cookie cutter to cut out the hole, and sprinkling cheese (I used shredded mozzarella) on top of the bread. I used garlic butter on my slice--yum. For people who had trouble flipping or making this: butter both sides of the bread, and dab a bit of butter on the griddle through the hole in the bread (else the egg may stick). Put the egg in as soon as possible, and then cover with a lid. Use only med-high heat. Note that larger cookie cutter shapes work best--my son wanted to use the one shaped like the gingerbread man, but that probably would not have held the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. I buttered both sides of the bread (I used Dutch Hearth sliced French bread - slightly thicker bread seems to hold the egg better). Slapped the bread on the grill and then cracked the egg into it. Cooked on lower heat so the bread didn't burn. I haven't quite mastered the flipping over of the bread - the egg gets a little messy - but it still tastes good. I haven't tried it with the cheese on top yet. Overall, an easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Been eating this since early 70s. I've always called them "egg in a basket." I like some of the other names listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Horseleach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Been making Egg in the Hole (same thing as Toad in the Hole) for years, minus the cheese. Never cook eggs on high. They require a low to medium heat. These will burn if cooked on high. Readers have said that you can't flip these, which is, of course, true, but you can put a lid on them and cook on low heat until done to your liking, or do what I do, add the cheese after cooking the egg. The cheese will melt (if not cut thickly). My grandkids love these and often ask for them when they visit. Great with various herbs on top for the more sophisticated taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States