Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Not toad in a hole... I believe you meant to say "Egg in a hole" also called Egg in a basket or Spit in the eye. That being said... I do this all the time best with Rye bread, although I've never tried it with cheese, I'll have to try that next..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Kid tested, mother approved. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe. I first had toad in a hole at the Applewood restaurant in Pigeon Forge about 25 years ago. I'd like to correct the respondent who said that toad-in-a-hole is made with Yorkshire pudding. She is confusing toad-in-A-hole with toad-in-THE-hole. Two different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith F Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Super easy & tasty. I flipped over to help cook but then added cheese after the flip. Kids give 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was so good! I buttered both sides of the bread & flipped it so that both sides of bread were grilled & egg was cooked over easy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Simple and yum - a favourite from childhood though I never had cheese with mine. To Diane and anyone else who says this is not Toad in the Hole, this is toad in the hole (at least it is in Australia). I'm also familiar with the old English recipe but to many, many Aussies (and possibly other nationalities) this is the Toad in the Hole recipe we grew up with so giving it a low rating because you're not familiar with this version is not really fair. You might even find you quite like this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I just made this recipe, and it was amazing! Instead of letting the egg cook through on its own (I'm impatient) I simply put on the bread round then flipped it. It's a bit messier, and the yolk broke, but the rest of the uncooked white coated the underside of the bread and made it fry just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Great recipe. I made a slight modification. I toasted the bread in the toaster, poached the eggs then made a poached egg sandwich on toast. Oh yeah I left off the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I use bacon grease instead of butter.. and top it off with the crumbled bacon.. Mmm mm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFx11
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My mother used to make this for me all the time as a kid. We never had a name for them, but they were always a great addition to the breakfast table. We also used the fun-shaped cookie cutters, like Christmas trees in the winter time, hearts in February, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Granby, Missouri, USA
Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States