To Die For Garlic Feta Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This came together very easily in just a few minutes. After reading the reviews about the thick consistency, I elected to use my entire 2 oz can of anchovies, including the liquid to smooth it out a bit. I added about 5 shakes of Tobasco and a touch more sour cream. I like the consistency and flavor, but the butteriness is throwing me off, a bit. I'm looking forward to my colleagues' response to it this evening. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I think this dip was good but "to die for" is an overstatement. Definitely use pastes (garlic & anchovy) as well as the lemon. It's a nice change from sour cream and onion dip, goes well with veggies. I'd be more curious to try this as a pasta sauce as RiverChef suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsYkr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it but it was too salty for everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
so good. i really ate this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Awesome spread! We put it on oven toasted baguette slices!! Everyone loved it! Lots of people think "anchovies" and think they don't like them!! They are missing out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
You must -- I repeat must -- love garlic. If you do, you will love this dip. We all loved it! I made no changes except to use a little more anchovies than called for because I didn't know what else I was going to do with the 2 or 3 extra - and I figured it wouldn't hurt. Then I tried a little experiment the next night - I took a few dollops put in a pan on low, added some half and half -- and then tossed in some cooked pasta and made myself a little side dish -- yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This didn't go over as well as I'd hoped and it was my fault. I KNOW better than to use fresh garlic in an uncooked dish, but I did it anyway in this one. Fresh garlic should be used in dishes that will be cooked. Fresh garlic varies so much; you never know if it will be too sharp or spicy or even "old" tasting. The only way to ensure a nice garlic taste without fail in an uncooked dish is to use garlic paste which I will do the next time I make this. Everyone who ate this complained of the strong garlic-ness and I agree. The cloves I used were STRONG. Also, I used anchovy paste as suggested by others and that worked out very well. I will make this again, but I definitely will use garlic paste in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was definately to die for!! I've actually made it 4 times now. The reciepe needs no changes, it's great the way it is =) Thanks for sharing this wonderful reciepe Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is really good! I used anchovy paste as suggested by some of the other reviews. Also added extra hot sauce and black pepper for some zip. This was very thick, so I thinned it out with some half and half.Great with pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Wow was this good! I only changed it slightly to reduce the fat content. I reduced the butter by 2 tbs and used low fat cream cheese and fat free feta. Even my picky 18 y/o daughter loved it. Of course I didn't tell her there were anchovies it. It is very garlicky though. I am fine with that but some my not be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States