To Die For Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I think I'm missing something here. Is it really 3 pints of cream? That seems like an awful lot. I tried it and it took forever to thicken. I finally had to get rid of 3/4 of the cream and then it thickened. What gives?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I was excited when I read all the great reviews but...I didn't find this to die for. The sauce never got thick, way too much butter.I did use less pasta. It was ok but lacked something maybe more cheese? And it didn't heat up with cream the next day either just butter oozed out. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Cut the cream down to 2 pints, double the cheese (we used half Romano/half Parm), sub white pepper for black, up the pinch of nutmeg to about 1/4 tsp., add a clove of crushed garlic to the sauce, garnish with flat leaf Italian parsley and you've got a "To Die For Fettuccini Alfredo" goin' on here! Served with grilled chicken, asparagus and garlic toast last night... everyone was in heaven. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I love Fettuccini Alfredo, I havent tried too many different recipe's for the sauce, as I stick to the one I really enjoy. I saw this recipe and was a bit reluctant to try it as it seems to be a very creamy sauce, but I had some Romano cheese and thought I'd try it out. Right off the get-go I could tell that it would be too creamy for my taste, so cut back a little bit on the whipping cream, but not enough it seems. In the end, all I ended up with was fettuccini in a soup of whipping cream. I dont really think i was able to taste the cheese that was in the sauce. The sauce ended about the same taste as the prepared bottles of alfredo sauce that you can get at most grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SrgtRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I wish I would have followed my instincts on cutting back the amount of cream since there was only 1 cup of cheese required. I ended up using 3 cups of cheese, and the sauce was still not thick enough to coat the back of the spoon. Even with the nutmeg, pepper, and the bit of garlic I added, the flavor just wasn't what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This turned out really tasty. I changed it up a bit. I cooked some chopped garlic in butter and olive oil before I added the cream. I used 1 quart of heavy cream and 1 pint of fat free half and half, a mixture of shredded parmesan and Romano cheeses, cooked chicken and some fresh parsley to finish it off. The finished dish definitely needs a bit of salt. Overall a decent alfredo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is really good. I only use 1 pint cream and it turned out perfect. I also added some grilled chicken on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I thought this was a spectacular recipe. I used 1/2 stick a butter, some minced garlic and a little minced shallots. Wifey was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clovistheband

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I was in the mood for some dietary indulgence, so I thought I'd give this recipe a shot. It turned out great with no changes to the recipe. The only thing I had a little trouble with is getting all the cheese to melt. But all in all, this is a winner...unfortunately due to the decadence, it will have to be saved for special occasions. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
this was wonderful and so easy to make . it tasted just like restraunt quailty on better since i made it myself !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by habittzgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States