To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
We have been making this alfredo sauce for about two years, and I wanted to share a hint. If you sift a little bit of cornstarch into your shredded cheese, and squeeze some fresh lemon juice into the sauce while you are adding your cheese, it will become nice and creamy. We love this recipe, but we also change it a little by adding freshly minced garlic and some asiago along with the romano and parmesan. This stuff is so good we dip our bread into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1885 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This sauce was a big hit at a dinner party I had, but I did make a few changes. I minced some garlic and sautéed it in the butter on low heat before adding the cream. TIP: if you're concerned the sauce is too soupy, just continue to slowly stir the sauce (for about ten minutes) on low heat after adding the cheese - it will thicken up to perfection. Before adding the sauce to the pasta (along with scallops, shrimp and broccoli) I was a bit concerned about the flavor. I had tasted the sauce from the pan and it was much too salty. I had only added a dash of garlic salt and a dash of table salt, so I couldn't figure what I might have done wrong. My only thought was that I neglected to use unsalted butter, but the recipe hadn't specified. Anyhow, once combined with the pasta, etc., the sauce tasted perfect. I'm sure much of the salty flavor was a result of the cheese, but you can't go wrong with Romano and Parmesan. Next time I will mince/sauté a bit more garlic and I will hold off on the garlic/table salt. I adjusted the servings to feed 12 people, which required 4 sticks of butter. Maybe next time I'll use 2 unsalted and 2 salted sticks, but as I said, once combined with the pasta, the sauce tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
975 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
i chose this recipe because it had the best reviews. and it really is very very good. i scaled down the recipe to 4 servings, but beware because the pasta it calls for is WAY too much, especially if you like a lot of sauce. my recommendation is to make the sauce according to this recipe's scale but make the amount of pasta according to the pasta box/label. i also love garlic in my alfredo so i minced about 5 cloves of garlic and added it to the sauce. also make sure that you are watching the sauce at all times and stirring often because the sauce tends to stick at the bottom and curdle there. also added chicken strips sauteed in butter and lawry's garlic salt, which added the saltiness the dish needed, since i made the sauce a little more on the bland side. i made it once with margarine and half and half to skim calories but it does not turn out that well. it tends to congeal and is not as creamy or thick so if you're looking to skim calories, this is not the recipe to do it with. my husband who is obsessed with alfredo thinks it is the best he's ever had. we love alfredo and thought olive garden had the best, but now we will be making this at home. very simple recipe, and love that all the ingredients are so accessible, and doesn't require an egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
771 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Pretty good - very similar to Olive Garden. Best thing besides taste is that this recipe has no egg in it! Good even without the parmesean added at the end. If you have leftovers and the butter separates, add more cream before heating and stir after heating - it will be just like when it was fresh. Be careful of this stuff though - sauce is extremely fattening!!! Great as a once in a while treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
True to its claim! It really is to die for. I used some chopped fresh basil from my garden and added more Parmesan and Romano. This sauce is wonderful over Penne Rigate with shrimp, scallops and crab! My company loved it. They said better than their favorite seafood restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
This is excellent! Very rich and delicious. I've subbed more parmesan for the romano, and it's just as good. I've even made it once accidentally with half-and-half, and it still turned out great and was even re-heatable. Overall, a great recipe, even to our picky Italian family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I fixed this one night and loved it.. Only now it has ruied me for Olive Gardens, because this is so much better then theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Very buttery! I think half the butter would have worked fine. But I am also a picky alfredo sauce eater, so others may think it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Great recipe!! Before adding the cheese, I brought the cream to a boil and then reduced the heat to low. After adding the cheese, I heated for about 20 mins. This will help it to thicken. I added chopped chicken, tomatoes, green onions, and sprinkled a little cajun spice on top and served it with garlic bread. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I am writing a review of my own recipe in response to some of the reviews... ...So that everyone knows, this is an authentic Italian (Olive Garden is NOT Italian) recipe for Fettuccine Alfredo, therefore, it doesn't have garlic. Garlic is an American addition to the dish. I didn't leave it out on accident, nor am I preparing the dish incorrectly. Thank you for all of the positive feedback!! Erin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States