To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Sauce thinner than water, and almost tasteless, but I added fresh garlic and Italian flat leaf parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Awesome! Quick and easy. I added garlic and real bacon bits to the butter, sautéed, then added sherry cooking wine and reduced. I add the rest of ingredients and yummy. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Just what I was looking for. Didn't change a thing. Thank you1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made this for the first time. Only thing I did differently was that I used a 50:50 ratio of parmesan and romano cheese (1¼ cup). It was pretty good! Although, it's VERY buttery.. too buttery, so I'd recommend using less butter than is called for. Also, beware, it is incredibly fattening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe should have been named "To die FROM" because of all the butter. Over the years I have come up with a pretty good alfredo recipe but am looking for something to top it. I think fresh minced garlic goes a long way in alfredo. I also prefer more cheese, less butter, and half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe and very easy. The secret to reheating is DO NOT MICROWAVE. Use a non-stick skillet, medium heat, and add a little milk or cream to thin it down. My leftovers turned out perfect. We added shrimp and garlic...it was fantastic! Based on the previous reviews, I only made one box (1 lb.) of pasta. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
this recipe is a very good start. I adjusted it a little. First off, I used only HALF the butter and the butter was ITALIAN butter. It has a higher fat content than domestic butter. It will definitely make a difference. I used the same amount of cheese but split it up using imported Romano (which is salty), Asiago, Parmesan and BUFFALO mozzarella. I also packed the cheese tightly in the measuring cup and made sure it was shredded. I also added 4 fresh crushed garlic gloves instead of garlic salt (once butter was nearly melted), half a cup of fresh diced basil (after the cream and butter bonded). Most critical (I think) is not to allow the butter to bubble. Slowly melt it,then slowly add the cream and whisk it non stop for at least 5 minutes. It takes a while for the butter and cream to bond. Don't let the cream/butter boil. It is bonded when the butter and cream no longer separate. Once this happens add the basil. Let it simmer a few minutes, then slowly add the cheese. I did each cheese a little bit at a time. It will take about 5-8 minutes to completely melt and thicken. When you add the pasta, use a wooden spoon. When it is all mixed well, add a little of the pasta water and mix well. The pasta water creates a smooth and glossy texture to the sauce. Top with a fresh chopped basil. I prefer to use Parpadelle/Paglio egg noodles since they absorb the sauce very well. It will reheat well if you save a bit of the pasta water and cream to mix with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
While it was good it wasn't the best. It was just ok. Very bland tasting. We ended up adding some salt. It had a lot of butter in it;mostly tasted like butter noddles with cheese in it. We stirred in the cheese it called for, but it was having a hard time thickening so we added more cheese. Still was very bland. Half of the family liked it. Wasn't horrible, just not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I must say this was simply delicious. The recipe calls for a DASH of garlic salt. Hello, there is salt in both cheeses. And, if you choose to use anything other than heavy whipping cream, your sauce is not going to be thick. When a recipe calls for butter, it means unsalted unless stated otherwise. I have made this numerous times and will continue to do so. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Ver rich...delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 793) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States