To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I'm baffled. These turned out AWFUL and my boyfriend, who is too nice to say anything, ate the top of one and then quietly dumped the rest in the trash. They were dry and chewy (and no, I did not overmix the batter) and completely flavorless. I strayed from a tried-and-true blueberry muffin recipe that I usually use just to try something different but I'll be going back to it after this waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Thick batter, great for keeping the fruit in place. I used frozen blueberries and just reduced the temp to 330 and increased the time to 33 mins. Also, substituted Brown sugar for the white sugar for the topping and the muffins were excellent. Also suggest doubling the recipe to feed the family for the week (but don't double the topping, there will be plenty). I also used this recipe to make a strawberry rhubarb muffin with frozen ingredients and a smidge of strawberry flavoring - they were better then the blueberry muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The muffin part was good, actually. It was the brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and a bit of flour topping that didn't work out at all. I should have stuck with the original white sugar. I ended up with a plastic brown sugar coating on the top of each muffin. Very crunchy but not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious and easy!!! I made them with rasperries too yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wonderful recipe ! The only thing I did different was to make smaller muffins, they were too large for standard muffin size the first time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danielles7975
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Perfect ! Didn't change a thing. The crumb topping makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made these in extra large muffin tins which yielded 7 of the most delicious blueberry muffins. I think the cubed butter in the topping makes it wonderful. Just like the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My favorite blueberry muffin recipe! Kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
These were some pretty amazing muffins. I made then for the first time but I still do not really understand much of the negative comments regarding the topping being too heavy or the batter just not coming out right. The only changes I made to the recipe was that I added about 2 more handfuls of sugar (yes I know, not the most precise way to measure my sugar) to the batter as well as at least 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. When I made the topping it did seem a bit heavy so I added a tad bit more white sugar since I was afraid of it sinking my muffins. In the end I cooked my muffins for 20 minutes and they had the most beautiful dome shape and the crumb topping was a golden brown, nothing close to being burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I loved them! I would recommend that if you want your muffins to come out being crisp and crunchy on top to add the crumble topping generously. Just sprinkling it over top didn't quite turn out I expected, but they still came out delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 7,422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States