To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I liked the idea of the crumbly topping, but should have read the reviews more thoroughly. My muffins looked beautiful as they baked in the oven, but when I took them out they suddenly fell flat. The top was now a weird looking sinkhole! I know that is not the fault of the person who submitted this recipe, but it's definitely something to be aware of if you try to bake these. I tried a bite anyway, and the flavor was just sort of "so-so" to me (though it may have been ruined in my upset about the tops.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tkingjw
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Simple, easy, delicious, fluffy & homemade? Yes, it's possible just by following this recipe. I did add extra blueberries (2C, instead of the recommended 1C). You can play with the crumble topping, too. I, personally, didn't think I needed as much as I made. I didn't use it all. But that's ok, b/c now I have it made for the next time I use this recipe - which will probably be tomorrow. Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I used frozen blueberries but tossed them with flour before adding them, helps so they don't bleed, added vanilla & used brown sugar in the topping, going to make again but topping them off with course sugar instead pf crumb topping. Also I made them as mini muffins naked for 13 mintues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
These are pretty good muffins!...just not exactly 5 stars. Due to the many complaints about the topping, I only put a teaspoon's worth per muffin to prevent the butter from melting and sinking. I also forgot to add cinnamon in the mix so after 18 minutes of baking, I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon sugar on top...the result was still a very yummy topping. NOW! For the actual muffins, I used fresh blueberries. It took only 19 minutes in my calibrated oven. The recipe made exactly 8 biggish muffins...they looked GORGEOUS, definitely like something from a real bakery. I am happy to say that they were moist and tender. It could use a biiiiiit more sugar due to the tartness of the fresh blueberries (this coming from an Asian with low tolerance for super sweets). However, following the recipe exactly as written (to fairly rate this recipe) I feel like there's a missing secret ingredient...something to give it OOMPH! I will try adding vanilla next time, and maybe some lemon zest? As others have noted, this is a very good base for many other possible muffins so it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Really good. Topping makes it like dessert. Went 25 min but check at 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very good texture! Blueberries don't end up at the bottom, although the crumb is light and fluffy. I found the streusel topping too sweet and distracting so I'll leave it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this recipe gluten free & it turned out great! I doubled the recipe but only used a single recipe of the crumb topping. To make it gluten free I used 1/2c almond flour, 1/2c gf oat flour, & 1 1/2c gf all purpose flour. I also added 1tsp xantham gum & 1T vinegar. I used oat flour for the crumbs also. This was all for the doubled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Quick, easy and delicious! I used frozen(thawed) blueberries and I added some almond extract and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Larkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I unfrozen blueberries and they lacked a bitofblueberry f l favor. Added a touch more oil and milk too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I just made these and they are wonderful. My husband, who doesn't really care for muffins or blueberries said, "Now, these are 5 star rating!" I did have to use frozen blueberries as I didn't have fresh on hand. I just incorporated them very carefully into the batter so they didn't break down and bleed into the batter. The streusel seems like too much, but use it all, it made the muffin! Thank you for this great recipe. I wouldn't change anything! Jeri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 7,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States