Tiropitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My boyfriend loves this dish! It is one of his favorites. I have also made it low-fat using f/f cottage and feta cheese as well as spray butter. It still tasted great. Very rich and heavy, so serve it with some light veggies or a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyCz
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
My first experiment with puff pastry! And it turned out great. We really enjoyed this dish. I substituted eggs for egg beaters, used reduced fat feta and fat free cottage cheese as well as "I can't believe it's not butter" spray. It was DELICIOUS! Next time I'm thinking I may reduce the cottage and feta cheese a little and throw in some spinach and tomatoes. Very yummy... I'm posting a pic of it right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Delicious! Just as good as my Greek friend's recipe. Here's a trick...go easy on the butter. I originally felt that I had to cover the entire sheet with butter. It's not necessary. The tiropitas still taste good, but they get a bit greasey. Just dab a little here and there. It's better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've never had these before, but I found them a little bland. I added a package of frozen spinach (thawed and drained) and some chopped up sundried tomatoes and it turned out a little bit more for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was tasty. It tastes similar to what you might think a breakfast casserole (of the egg/cheese variety), but the feta and cottage cheese give it a little something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I only used 1/2 cup butter and these got too greasey and not flaky at all. I thought the filling had too much egg and not enough cheese even though I used 10 oz of feta cheese. I also used my mixer on low to mix everything and I wonder if that put too much air into the filling. Next time I plan on using one less egg, more feta and I will dab the butter around like another person said. My husband loves Tiropitas so much I really want to perfect this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe reminds me of a dish my dad used to make, but he used ricotta and feta cheeses, no cottage cheese. Normally he would fold the phyllo into triangles and fill them with the egg and cheese mixture, but sometimes he would cook it in a pan, like a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sly Boots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Pete Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made these as appetizers. Instead of butter, I sprayed between layers of philo with butter spray. I cut them into squares and pushed them into a mini muffin pan. I scooped the filling into each "cup" and baked them. They were a hit. Except for presentation, I didn't change a thing. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I grew up and lived in Cyprus and Greece for almost 10 years. The one thing that I missed the most is of course, tyropita. So, I searched high and low for a great recipe that would taste authentic and this is it! However, I made some few additions : - I skipped out on the mint and opted for a mix of herbs instead. A friend got me a bag of salad herbs straight from Crete ( mix of dried mint, thyme and oregano ). I added this to the cheese mixture and it was amazing. - I also added the nutmeg which gave it that authentic Greek cuisine flavour. Other than that, the recipe is perfect and now it's become one of my favourite things to make in the kitchen! I made a whole batch and stored them in the freezer...they were gone within 2 days between my boyfriend and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
i love just about anything with cheese in it but i didnt care for this. maybe yo uhave to be a BIG fan of feta, i didnt even put all of the feta in it thank go. o well sad to say but i wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States