Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Did you REALLY make this? This is awesome! Tastes like a fancy bakery. These are the comments I heard after making this for my mom's birthday. She loves Tiramisu and all other recipes on this site looked too involved. This turned out wonderful, and the taste was great. I used a Kahlua and Vanilla Coffee, a little packet of instant flavored Vanilla Coffee and a Kahlua type liquor. Tasted wonderful! I don't even like coffee! The layered effect is really nice and although it takes a little time to put together it is well worth the comments I received from my family. You have to try it! Looks very fancy with shaved Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate on top and a dusting of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Delicious and crowd pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I just made this cake today for a birthday. It is fantastic! Our local grocery store didn't have mascarpone cheese so I used cream cheese instead. The cake turned out beautiful. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This looked so fancy, and tasted fancy too! I used a classic white cake recipe so that I was able to claim that I actually made the whole thing myself from SCRATCH (though it took a little longer). This was my first time making a cake and from this one, I feel like an expert. It was a bit hard to frost the cake since the whip cream frosting was so light, but I got the hang of it after awhile, and the taste of the frosting with the cake was worth the work! Next time, and BOY will there be next times, I will make more than just a 1/4 cup of the coffee mixture to pour onto the cake layers because I would really like that flavor to stand out a bit more as well as add some extra moistness to the cake. And I'll make more of the frosting too, since that was so good that I'd like a thicker layer of it on the cake (I started running out while frosting...too many licks). But other than that, this is a real winner. Thanks so much, Bettina, for sharing this fabulous recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Absolutely Wonderful - Moist and Beautiful Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I made this cake to take to a relativies house and she made a tiramisu dessert with lady fingers, this cake was a hit it was better than the one using lady fingers everyone loved it!! I will make this over & over! Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!!! My mother and my husband loved it. Had to give my mom the recipe. I could probably finish off the entire cake by myself in a day or two. Did not want to finish my piece...savored every morsel. I will use this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This cake is OUTSTANDING! Lots of raves and one of my favorites. I could not find the mascarpone cheese, so I used regular cream cheese. I also used a cup of Pampered Chef's flavored coffee (1/3 C. per layer) and for the dusting, I combined Ghiradelli's Mocha Hot Chocolate, Cocoa and International's brand instant coffee-Swisse Mocha flavor in order to take the edge off of pure Cocoa as well as combine the coffee/chocolate flavors of the cake. Molto Bene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Great recipe and wonderful taste. Next I make this (and I imagine I'll make this cake many more times) I will drizzle the layers with a little more coffee to obtain the soaked layers effect classic tiramisu has. The marscapone filling was a little grainy instead of smooth. Not sure why, but tasted greated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
i tried this cake for my husband's birthday. It came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States