Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Liked the cake,but suggest to use stronger coffee or espresso and more coffee liqueur for stronger flavor.Tasted mostly the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Thought this was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made this recipe for a bake-off at work and won! It was delicious and overall relatively easy to make. I ended up changing a few things. (1)As other reviewers suggested, I made twice the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture and I used almost all of it. (2) I misread the recipe and left the whipped cream out of the filling. I think it tasted better because of this, but I ended up having to double the amount of mascarpone, confectioners sugar, and coffee liqueur to make enough for 2 layers of filling. (3)I added the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture in such a way that I avoided the nightmare of the moistened cake layers falling apart when you try to move them. I placed the bottom cake layer on the serving plate, poked holes, and added the coffee/coffee liqueur mix with a tablespoon. I spread the mascarpone mixture on top and then put the next cake layer on. I poked holes in that cake layer and added the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture. Then I spread the filling, placed the next cake layer on, poked holes, and added the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture. After all of this, I put the cake in the fridge for about 45 min-1 hour to let everything set. Since I didn't already have the whipped cream made, I whipped this during the cake's time in the fridge. I pre-chilled the metal mixing bowl in the freezer for about 15 minutes before whipping the heavy cream and after the whipped cream was made, I kept the bowl on ice while I was icing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I've made this twice now and have been asked by my daughter to make this for her birthday. She's pretty picky so I will give this 5 stars on that request alone! Really though... Yummy moist cake. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very good but is alot more like a cake than Tiramisu that I have had before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Great cake! Will make again for sure. May try with cream cheese next time, only because mascarpone is expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Good but not exceptional as written. Based on the advice of other reviewers, I added more coffee (subbed coffee for 2/3 water in the cake) for a total of approx. 1 cup coffee in the whole cake. I left the amount of liqueur as written. Coffee taste was still very subtle. Recommend adding more liqueur and coffee to give it a more pronounced flavor and more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Awesome cake. Really moist. easy to make. Will make it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelanieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moriah Center, New York, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I reviewed this before with vegan changes, and on making it again for Mother's day realized an error in my icing recipe: it should be 1/2 C each earth balance and shortening, not 1 C each. Sorry about that! It's an amazing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States