Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
can I just say WOW to this recipe. I made this for my husband's birthday and everyone absolutely loved it. It was one of the best tiramisus I have eaten so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gerry
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is an easy, delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Liked the cake,but suggest to use stronger coffee or espresso and more coffee liqueur for stronger flavor.Tasted mostly the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Thought this was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made this recipe for a bake-off at work and won! It was delicious and overall relatively easy to make. I ended up changing a few things. (1)As other reviewers suggested, I made twice the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture and I used almost all of it. (2) I misread the recipe and left the whipped cream out of the filling. I think it tasted better because of this, but I ended up having to double the amount of mascarpone, confectioners sugar, and coffee liqueur to make enough for 2 layers of filling. (3)I added the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture in such a way that I avoided the nightmare of the moistened cake layers falling apart when you try to move them. I placed the bottom cake layer on the serving plate, poked holes, and added the coffee/coffee liqueur mix with a tablespoon. I spread the mascarpone mixture on top and then put the next cake layer on. I poked holes in that cake layer and added the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture. Then I spread the filling, placed the next cake layer on, poked holes, and added the coffee/coffee liqueur mixture. After all of this, I put the cake in the fridge for about 45 min-1 hour to let everything set. Since I didn't already have the whipped cream made, I whipped this during the cake's time in the fridge. I pre-chilled the metal mixing bowl in the freezer for about 15 minutes before whipping the heavy cream and after the whipped cream was made, I kept the bowl on ice while I was icing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I've made this twice now and have been asked by my daughter to make this for her birthday. She's pretty picky so I will give this 5 stars on that request alone! Really though... Yummy moist cake. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very good but is alot more like a cake than Tiramisu that I have had before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Great cake! Will make again for sure. May try with cream cheese next time, only because mascarpone is expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Good but not exceptional as written. Based on the advice of other reviewers, I added more coffee (subbed coffee for 2/3 water in the cake) for a total of approx. 1 cup coffee in the whole cake. I left the amount of liqueur as written. Coffee taste was still very subtle. Recommend adding more liqueur and coffee to give it a more pronounced flavor and more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States