Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Fabulous, I made this fabulous layered cake as indicated and it's perfect. Light and moist and perfectly flavored in each layer. This recipe exceeded my expectations. I would not change anything. This cake will impress everyone. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Like many others, I doubled the kahlua and used two coffee layers and one white layer. I also sprinkled some mini chocolate chips on top of the cream between the layers. I would be curious to see how this turns out using chocolate cake - you would lose the visual effect of the different colored layers, but I bet the mocha flavor would be pretty tasty for us chocoholics. I also like the idea another reviewer had to use strawberries between the layers and chambord instead of kahlua, or maybe I would use Amaretto. Lots of possibilities. Got my mascarpone at BJs -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Really amazing cake! Made it for my weekly lunch with my mother and her sisters. Thumbs up all around! Next time, I will do the following: double the amount of coffee going into the poked holes; make 2 coffee layers and 1 white layer; use a doily to make a more attractive cocoa powder design on top of the cake; make the cake the day before serving to let it "sit" AND if I am really ambitious, will make the Heavenly White Cake as another reviewer did. I am not a big fan of cakes from a box though nobody could tell I had help from Mr. Duncan Hines! Oh, it would look fabulous with some juicy red strawberries as decoration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I made it for my tiramisu loving husband who absolutely loved it. I made it exactly as the recipe called for and made no substitutions, nor did I double anything. I may have been a bit heavy handed on the Kahlua, but who isn't? I also used very strong Turkish coffee. Fabulous cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe (and for all your ratings too). I did not get the cake mix so bought a sponge cake from the shop and cut into three layers. My first Coffee Liqueur tiramisu was just beautiful(I used 5T of liqueur though!) and impressive. Will make it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this for a coworker's birthday. I've had 3 requests from other coworkers to make it for their family members birthday. It melts in your mouth. Very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Best Tiramisu Layer Cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This cake is awesome! I've made it twice. My husband loves tiramisu and he thought this was better than the one from the little Italian bakery around the corner. Here is a FIX TO THE RUNNY MASCARPONE: 16 oz mascarpone, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream. Mix mascarpone and sugar until creamy then add heavy cream until thickens. You can chill for up to 3 days. I even added 3 TBSP of coffee liqueur and it came out nice and thick. Try it, you will love it and so will your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It was a great recipe but it required so many revisions that I only gave it four stars instead of five. First I read all the reviews prior to making the cake and I want to thank everyone who took the time to leave such helpful tips. I made two layers with one coffee flavored and divided both layers into a four layer cake. I used Tia Maria liqueur instead of Kahlua because Tia Maria has a stronger coffee flavor. I also substituted instant espresso powder for the instant coffee (Medaglia D'Oro brand). The biggest problem was overcoming the artificial vanilla in the boxed cake mix. Never again will I use a box mix for this cake. I still doubled the liqueur every time the recipe called for it and I used a small spray bottle to spray the coffee/liqueur mixture onto the cake layers. The icing came out better than I imagined. I had nightmares about the icing from all the negative comments. Next time I will double the mascarpone mixture. Surprisingly this cake turned out fabulous thanks to all the helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States