Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made this (as written) for a birthday party, and everyone raved. The only thing different I will do next time is use instant espresso powder instead of instant coffee and for the frosting I'm going to sub brown sugar for the powder sugar which is what I have used on other cakes. I will also try others suggestion and make 2 coffee layers. Still is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I'm rating this as 3/5 stars because I have no idea if I did something wrong or if it was the recipe. Basically the filling was sloppy, the alcohol overwhelming, The frosting so so. Now I'm left with an expensive bottle of coffee liqueur and an extra thing of mascarpone cheese and it is all worthless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watkinsfamilyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Loved this! I followed the instructions almost to a T but did what a lot of reviewers mentioned and made two coffee layers. I also doubled the coffee in the cake mix but decided not to double the liquor. I was worried I would regret not doubling the liquor, but it didn't seem to lack in flavor at all. I made and assembled it the day before my moms birthday and kept it in the fridge til serving time. It was a huge hit! Even the non-coffee lovers in our family loved it. One other thing I did differently was I actually used two cake mixes because I didn't want to have such thin layers. I used almost all of the batter, filling each pan til it was about half full. I loved having thicker cake layers and the frosting was still enough to cover my whole cake. I think next time I will try making this with a homemade cake recipe instead of box. My mom said I'm in charge of making all the birthday cakes from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Swenson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Made this for some friends and it was awesome! Not a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclary2
Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this cake for a culinary competition at my school. I won first place! I did alter the recipe though. Instead of using white cake, I made a sponge cake, (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/glorious-sponge-cake/detail.aspx). The cake absorbed the coffee much better and didn't get the unappealing mealy texture of wet cake. I also did 4 layers instead of 3, and doubled the amount of filling. I didn't mix any coffee into any of the cake layers, just gave them a good basting of brewed coffee. I didn't use coffee liqueur either, and you couldn't even tell. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
In a word..fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Though my marscapone filling was a bit runny(I think it was my mistake), my hubby said I out did myself! Everyone loved it even those who said they don't like coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Slutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
really loved it....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I used two cake mixes to make three oversize 9 inch rounds. Then I followed the recipe as written and let it "age" in the 'fridge for two days before our get-together. YUMMY! Even non-cake eaters gave this dessert reave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
NickyBaby61--I don't know if you made this mistake, but I slapped my own forehead when I realized it during my first batch. I accidentally mixed up my carton of heavy cream with my carton of buttermilk. So when I mixed the liqueur with the milk, the milk soured. And, of course, since it was buttermilk and not heavy cream, it never formed into a whipped cream texture. *Le sigh* But, I caught on pretty quickly what I did wrong, so that was resolved. As for my own opinion, the recipe is GREAT. I just like the cake to be more moist, so I tripled the coffee mixture (3/4 coffee, 3 tbsp liqueur). I saw another review about freezing the cakes a bit first, though, since the coffee might make the cake crumble a bit. I only read that today after I made the cake again last night. :-P I will remember that for the future. It's a fantastic recipe, otherwise, and it makes you look really pro (without having to go to school for it). The filling and frosting are to die for. I could eat them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States