Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Awesome recipe. Seriously, it inspired awe in those who tasted it. I just wanted to repost a mascarpone substitute I found in another Tiramisu recipe. It worked wonderfully in this one! HEIDI8803 posted this in Raspberry Tiramisu, not sure which recipe she got it from: mascarpone substitute- 2pkgs cream cheese blended with 1/2 c heavy cream and 5 T sour cream And, to reiterate other advice given by previous reviewers, I too made two of the three cake layers with the instant coffee (I'd've made it three, but the changing colors are beautiful) and I doubled the coffee liquer everywhere it was called for. I think next time I'm going to add chocolate covered coffee beans around the base of the cake. ***Edit*** I've made this a few times now, and learned (the hard way) one big thing on the frosting: It is better to under whip than over. More than five minutes and you risk hitting an icky butter zone. That might be what happened to Nicky. Right at 5 min. works for me. Oh, and believe all the reviews about letting the cake sit overnight. The frosting will set better in that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
AMAZING! Make this and you will look like a pro! My suggestions: 1) use 4x as much instant coffee powder in cake batter, and make 2 layers of coffee flavored cake 2) i followed another reviewer's suggestion for substituting mascarpone with a mix of cream cheese, sour cream, and heavy cream, and it tastes great and is cheaper 3) you must turn the cake upside down when layering, otherwise coffee liqueur will not soak into it 4) i used kahlua for liqueur 5) I used Duncan Hines supreme white cake mix-it is moist and uses egg whites 6) i used a very strong espresso instead of the coffee to give it more flavor...also, instead of making coffee/espresso, just add water to some of the instant coffee powder, it tastes just fine in the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
838 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Used 1 cup of coffee and 3T of liqueur. Made it twice this way and it turns out so wonderfly moist and flavorful. Oddly the coffee flavor is still very subtle. The cake layers are so moist with the extra liquid it is best to freeze them before you layer them.This way they will not fall apart when stacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Thanks for the excellent recipe! I made this for my father's birthday...he was a professional baker and cake decorator in Europe so the pressure was on. Everyone agreed it was great. The frosting was not overly sweet like some can be. I would, however add more coffee/liquor mixture to the layers next time. I was afraid the cake would taste too "boozy", as there are members of my family that dont drink, but the taste was very subtle. (good for those that dont like the coffee taste) I also made the cake layers days ahead of time and simply froze them, took them out of the freezer and assembled the cake the day before the party. When I sprinkled the cocoa powder on the cake I first carefully placed a paper "lace" doily on the cake top and when removed the cake had the lace pattern on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by azzilann
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Excellent. To make things easier, I used only 2 pans. I poured half of the cake batter onto 1 deep pan and used a cake slicer to evenly divide it. I followed the instructions to detail afterward. Follow these tips for outstanding results: 1. Instead of mixing the instant coffee into the batter, mix 1/4 cup of water with about 1 tbsp of instant cofee powder and mix into the batter. It tastes like an awesome mocha cake. 2. Also, be generous with the coffee mixture as you're pouring it over your cakes, that way the cake is MOIST. Don't overdo it though! 3. Buy your MASCARPONE CHEESE at Trader Joes or Sams Club (even cheaper)...it's significantly cheaper there than any other grocery store that I went to. Excellent recipe!! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I thought that the cake and the filling recipes were wonderful. But when it was time to make the fristing, it turned out horrible. It was extremely watery and tasted sour. I decided to make a simple cream cheese combination frosting instead; and fortunately my cake was saved and everyone loved it. Can anyone tell me what I might have done wrong with the frosting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I thought this cake was great! Following the advice of previous reviews, I make two of the layers with the coffee granulars and one without, doubled the Kahlua everywhere it was called for, and doubled the brewed coffee. I was amazed how fast this came together. Because the layers are so thin they cook and cool very fast. I think I had the whole thing done in under 45 minutes. As a variation, I made this recipe for my husband's birthday and left out all the coffee, kahlua, and coffee granulars and added Chambord to two of the layers, layered sliced strawberries over her marscapone cheese between the cake layers and pressed more slices into the side of the whipped cream frosting. It was very good, like a strawberry shortcake cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josie
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Absolutely delicious! So easy to make with a beautiful finished outcome. My whole family adored it and I've made it twice so far. One note - if you want luscious chocolate curls don't use a square of baking chocolate. Melt chocolate chips and shortening, refrigerate in a sm. rectangular pan, and shave away. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2winboyz
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This cake was excellent and easy to make. I baked the cake layers in 9" springform pans and took roughly 12-13 minutes to bake. Followed some reviewers suggestions and made 2 coffee layers. I didn't want to modify the recipe too much the first time. But next time I will double the coffee/liquor mixture for the layers and add more liquor. I also used heavy whipping cream and it was yummy and so light. Cannot wait to make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Did you REALLY make this? This is awesome! Tastes like a fancy bakery. These are the comments I heard after making this for my mom's birthday. She loves Tiramisu and all other recipes on this site looked too involved. This turned out wonderful, and the taste was great. I used a Kahlua and Vanilla Coffee, a little packet of instant flavored Vanilla Coffee and a Kahlua type liquor. Tasted wonderful! I don't even like coffee! The layered effect is really nice and although it takes a little time to put together it is well worth the comments I received from my family. You have to try it! Looks very fancy with shaved Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate on top and a dusting of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States