Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
HOLY COW!!! THIS IS IS AWESOME!!! Tastes really light, cream filling and frosting went perfectly with the cake. I was worried about the filling leaking out of the sides of the cake, so after the cake was assembled I used a marinade syringe and squirted the filling into the middle of the cake to fill it up. Fantastic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The overall taste of the Tiramisu was five star, but the actual process and the creation of it was VERY difficult! This recipe is meant for an experienced baker. I really really liked the tiramisu frosting. It was best the 2nd-3rd day after refrigerating. I might attempt this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this for my birthday today. I had hoped it would not be frustrating, but it turned out to be a little more work than I expected. I cut out the coffee liquer (since my toddler will be having a slice, and I didn't want to risk it since the filling and frosting aren't cooked). First, my complaints. I did use cream cheese instead of marscapone, because it wasn't available. It was very hard to 'fold' the frosting into the filling, perhaps I didn't beat the filling enough? Either way, the filling was not very easy to spread, I think next time I make this, I'll just add some of the cream and a little more sugar into the filling and then beat it at a high speed. The frosting, however, was AMAZING, it was so easy to spread, I just hope it sets in the fridge and doesn't dissolve. I did add some cream of tartar to the frosting, just a trick I learned about whipped cream. One the frosting sets, right before serving, I'm going to add the garnish. :3 The frosting and filling were delicious, I licked the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Chase City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Five star based on taste. Delicious! Had some issues however. First cake I made fell apart, tried a different brand with 4 egg whites and was fine. Due to time restraints and only having yeti cake pans, I made in two layers only. My filling and frosting were more runny than I liked I think because of adding the extra Kahlua liked suggested so don't know what to do about that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe without using any liquor. I used coffee extract mixed with cocoa powder instead. I used less than what was called for with the liquor as it is stronger. Alcohol is not an option in our house, the tiny bit in the extract is OK. I used four layers 2 coffee and 2 white. I froze the cakes then assembled them. I used the vanilla instant pudding in the whipped cream (as one review suggested) and it set very well. You can also use a teaspoon of unflavored gelatin in 2 tbsp hot water and cool it down and add to the whipped cream. This will make the whipped cream more firm and keep longer in the fridge. Also make sure your bowl and beaters are very cold when whipping the cream. I put mine in the freezer before whipping heavy cream, work every time. It was a big hit! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. Only Change was doubling up on the coffee in cake and in liquid. I tripled the kahlua and made 2 pans instead of three. One plain and cut in half for two layers. I had 3 slices and I hardly eat sweets but this is near the real thing of tarimisu Whipped topping came out perfect just stick to the ingredient quantities don't change them or add additional liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was the dessert course to an Italian meal our daughter and her friend made for us on Christmas Eve. It was a nice and fairly light way to finish the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Amazing...Amazing...Amazing! I have made this on several occasions, exactly as written, and it turns out INCREDIBLE every time. It is a bit more effort than other cakes but so worth it! You won't have a single regret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I don't usually like cake mix recipes ... but this had such good reviews I made for christmas. It was a huge hit and I would make again in a heart beat. I may try it next time with 2 cake mixes. Now that the boxes are 15 oz instead of 18, i felt this was a small cake. i used a 16 oz container of mascarpone so had very full layers but all in all this was a fantastic cake and I am going to try it with chambord and raspberrys next time ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Leyrer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't read the recipe correctly and added the liquor and coffee to 1/3 of the batter, and that portion split when I put in on cooling rack. The frosting helped to hide my mistake and the cake was scrumptios!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States