Tiramisu IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
For some reason I can't find mascarpone cheese anywhere so I figured I would try this recipe. Its not sweet at all and needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
nette, your tiramisu was fantastic, I have been tried your recipe, but I change the amaretto liquer with lemon juice and plain water. thank you very much, don't forget your mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was my first time making a tiramisu and I am quite pleased with this recipe. I like that is contains no egg. The small changes I made was I swapped the cream cheese for mascarpone cheese that already had espresso in it. I used a shot of espresso in place of amaretto since I don't have amaretto. I also added a little powdered sugar to the homemade whipped cream before whisking it to stiff peaks. Perfectly flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I gave this five stars despite my disappointment, because I didnt' follow this recipe 100%. I combined this one with the "tiramisu II recipe." Don't do that!!!!! It lacked serious flavor, and I'm not even sure what that flavor was. I make desserts pretty often, and am usually capable of twisting recipes to make them better. Not this time. I used marscapone cheese instead of cream cheese, and also did use 6 egg yolks with 2/3 cup of sugar brought to a boil, chilled in the fridge for an hour, and and mixed it in with the marscapone mixture. I feel like this would have been more enjoyable with kahlua or rum, but the amaretto seemed to be bland. It definitely needs to be refrigerated for more than one hour. Let it stay chilled for 1 to 2 days to let all the flavors run together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made this on a Thursday night as a test run for a party. I had planned on making some changes and re-maiking it and I forgot and ended up eating my practice one at breakfast on sunday and wow was it good. It was OK on Friday but by Sunday it was fabulous. I was very skeptical when I made it because it did not look appetizing but I loved it. I highly recomend I was just say leave it in the fridge for 48hours!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was excellent and got rave reviews. I used the suggestions made by Leslie A. (marscapone and sugar) and made a few other adjustments. 1- I increased the amount of marscapone to 16oz. total. I think it needs a thicker layer of both creams, but I did not adjust the amt of liquid I mixed it with and it came out nice and firm and held a nice shape on the plate. I was surprised how loose the Coffee/Liquor/Cheese mix was but it chilled nicely. 2-I used Kahlua instead of Amaretto Also, since Ladyfingers come in different textures (the traditional crispy biscuit or a spongecake version) I was unsure how it would turn out as this recipe didn't specify. I selected the Crispy Ladyfingers and let them soak in the coffee/liquor for about 5 mins. Turned out just right! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I just made it. I haven't tried it yet, because I literally just put it in the refrigerator. Notes thus far. I used the mascarpone, not cream cheese. I added the vanilla sugar instead of vanilla. I used 3/4 cups of coffee (double strength recipe from my coffee pot, with Maxwell House master blend). I used slightly more whipping cream. I got a pint, and used the whole thing. I felt like I didn't have enough of the layers. I think,although I will have to officially wait until morning when I try it, that I will likely double the recipe for the layers. I thought when I was putting it together that it was a rather light covering. I'm not certain there will be enough of the coffee mixture to soak in to the lady fingers. I'll update the results when I eat some. But for now, I think I'll be doubling them next round. Although, the taste was good (one always has to lick the bowl, you know).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Overall I thought this was very good. I too used Leslie's suggestions and used marscarpone and sugar with some vanilla. I didn't use the amaretto and that didn't hurt the recipe. Next time I will drizzle some coffee on the ladyfingers as well to soak them up a bit more. Also, I felt like the cheese/cream mixture amount was too low for the amount of lady fingers (i know i didn't use amaretto, but still). I will double this too next time or use less ladyfingers. I think I will keep this as my staple tiramisu recipe, considering NO eggs! Cuts my prep time tremendously and tastes just as good. Thanks Nette and Leslie ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Cream Cheese with amaretto will not taste like tiramisu even if using the strongest coffee. It will usually taste like a flavored cheesecake. The key to making tiramisu is the use of mascarpone cheese, a mild flavored cheese that does not take over whatever it is used with. Marsala, brandy or rum are suitable but not amaretto, Kahlua or other coffee flavored liqueurs. These will take the dessert in other directions. The result might share the appearance or texture of tiramisu and may taste quite good, however, the flavor will not resemble tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I was not happy when I was making this. The cream cheese never got smooth, left little chunks in both the coffee & the cream mixtures. I also used a pan half the required size and I still didn't have enuf filling. But I finished anyway, left in the fridge overnight and it was YUMMY! The bits of cream cheese are a little off putting, but the taste is great. The cookies were perfect, soft but not mushy. Next time I will soften the cream cheese longer or beat first without cream. Something needs to be different. And definitely double the filling amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States