Tiramisu III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a wonderful tiramisu recipe. I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this on a camping trip to serve 15 people and I only had an ice chest and a two burner camp stove to work with. It turned out very well and everybody loved it. I'd like to try the Kahlua version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I always loved the way a local restaurant used to make this and always wished I had their recipe. I don't need it anymore. Your recipe would blow them out of the water! This ending to a Valentine's Day dinner was AWESOME! I am going to print several copies of this recipe and put them in all of my cook books, so I won't have to look far to find it. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZZBERY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used this recipe for my virgin attempt at making tiramisu and it turned out great! I believe the zabaglione is the key ingredient because I made a portion of tiramisu without it, just as a comparison. The one without the zabaglione had a one-dimensional taste, basically just cheesy tasting, and was not as smooth. The ones with the zabaglione were better in terms of taste and consistency. I made this without Marsala wine because my family does not take alcohol, so I would assume with the wine, the taste would be even more complex. Because I omitted the wine, I added a pinch of cinnamon and substituted one cup of evaporated milk for the wine. The cinnamon was a good addition but make sure not to use too much or it will overpower everything else. My only issue was that this recipe did not yield enough cheese mixture and I ended up with a short tiramisu. I made 12 individual portions in 5x4” containers, with two fingers as the base but the amount of cheese meant and I could only get 1” tiramisus. I’m greedy and would prefer a taller tiramisu so if you want to make individual portions, make less than 12. Or double the amount of cheese mixture, which I will be doing the next round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
great recipe..although I like to add some vanilla so I used vanilla sugar to mix with the whipping cream instead of plain sugar and put a little more coffee/brandy mix to make the cookies more soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I literally just got done making my first tiramisu. Anyways, I haven't tried it yet, but they don't sell mascarpone cheese in my town so I had to do the substitution by using the whipped cream, sour cream, and cream cheese. I tried the cheese mixture and it seemed too cheesecake tasting for my liking. The tiramisu I've ever tried has been almost whipped cream flavored. And it doesn't seem to have enough sugar. It just doesn't seem sweet enough. But there are a lot of good reviews. I hope it's good. I'm going to be trying it tomorrow after it has soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great recipe! Have made it twice for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
If your dessert came out tasting "too eggy" you have overcooked the custard. Reducing the number of eggs from 5 to 4 will mostly effect the texture not the flavor. Also, substituting mascarpone using cream cheese and sour cream may taste good but it will dramatically change the flavor characteristics of tiramisu. You will end up with a dessert that looks like tiramisu and tastes more like coffee flavored cheesecake but it will not be tiramisu. Tiramisu benefits, both in flavor and texture, from some aging in the frig. It is best served the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
One word...UH-MAZING! Being a non-drinker I ate so much of this awesome dessert that I'm pretty sure I had a hangover the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a wonderful tiramisu recipe. What most people don't realize is that the "store bought" or often times "restaurant served" tiramisu is a knockoff that leaves much to be desired. Tiramisu is meant to have strong flavors to be truly Italian. I make this every time my office has a "food day". It's gotten to the point that when word goes out we are having a potluck, I am bombarded with emails ensuring that I will be bringing the tiramisu. PLEASE NOTE - this recipe is meant to be made ahead of time and chilled, preferably overnight. Rushing this dish will result in your disappointment and in a crunchy layer of ladyfingers and lumpy cheese mixture. To properly make tiramisu takes time and patience. I am Italian and it has taken me years to perfect tiramisu because of the time involved to make it correctly. If you make this properly, between the chill times and actual work times, it should take about 3 hours BEFORE you chill it, which should preferably be overnight or at least 4-5 hours. If you take your time and are patient and ensure that your mascarpone mixture is lump-free, you will have wonderful success with tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States