Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is the BEST! The only thing I did differently was to use Kahlua instead of rum, and I did not split the ladyfingers but briefly dunked or rolled them in the coffee mixture and laid them in the dish whole. I loved my old tiramisu recipe but this one is the one I will go with from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I thought this recipe and the insightful reviews made this a winner! I did up the rum and the coffee as suggested. My trick for drizzling the lady fingers with coffee/rum...a clean, unused hair color bottle! I simply squeezed a perfect amount of mixture onto the individual lady fingers, just right! Try it ! Happy 2015 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
The flavor was great after sitting for 24 hours. I used soft ladyfingers and cut them in half this time like the recipe says. However, next time I will leave them whole for a thicker layer of the ladyfingers. I also mixed the custard and whipped cream together and tripled the rum/coffee mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this recipe for Christmas and it was absolutely delicious! I doubled the coffee mixture like most reviews suggested and let it sit over night! So good... I will try with stronger coffee next time for a more pronounced coffee flavor. Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Amazing. I made it twice and the first time it was awesome the second time it was really loose and watery, I followed the same procedure as the first time (leaving it in the refrigerator for 2 nights) but I don't know what happened. Does anyone know what I did wrong? It was still amazing just the presentation was lacking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've been making this for YEARS! Everyone that has ever tried it, has LOVED it and always asks me when I'm making it again :). I followed the recipe as written for a long time. Only the last 2 years I've changed it ever so slightly. My new changes have been; making my own ladyfingers using the "Savoiardi I" recipe from this site (I've tried all the ladyfinger recipes from this site and found this is the closest to store bought crisp Savoiardi). Instead of sprinkling cocoa powder, I buy a high quality 70% cacao bittersweet chocolate bar and use a micro plane grater for super fine chocolate shavings. I fold my whipped cream into the mascarpone mixture so I can have one less bowl on the counter during assembly (limited counter space!), and I prefer the texture this way. I sometimes use rum, sometimes not. It all depends on if I have any handy or not (usually not). And in my opinion, I think it is best 24 hours after it's been made. 4-6 hours is just not enough time for all the flavors to really soak in. I know it's hard to wait! But I promise, for this recipe - patience TRULY IS A VIRTUE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We make this for Christmas Eve dessert every year. It's wonderful. The ingredients can be difficult to find in my part of the country but the hunt is worth the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Yum! I cook the custard mixture in the microwave:30-60 second increments on high until thickened, stirring after each time.(less likely to scorch that way.If you over-cook and have curds, use "stick" blender, they smooth right out!)Found cocoa-flavored mascarpone at Trader Joe's - folded 8 oz. tub into the whipped cream, used 8 oz. regular mascarpone in the custard mixture. Used 50/50 strong coffee mixture and Frangelico for dipping the lady fingers. This tiramisu is awesome; it really does continue to improve the longer it rests - the hardest part is hiding it until serving time! First made this for Thanksgiving and it was immediately requested for Christmas - I have a feeling this is a new family "tradition" for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeccaFree
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is the only tiramisu recipe I trust, I've tried many and this is the real deal! My Italian family agrees, the only thing I change is using fresh brewed espresso instead of regular coffee, it's the stronger and the way it was intended. I also discovered when my mixer broke that substituting cool whip in a pinch will work if you have no other options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made this and it was amazing i did like everyone said i increased the amount of coffee and rum and i whisked the egg mixture every 15 mintues while it was in the frig and it kept it from being lumpy.My son is not a dessert or sweet eate but this he loved and i made a second one to take to our sweater party we are going to and i also used soft lady fingers and used a pastry brush to put the coffee and rum mix on the lady fingers.I will continue to make this.Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Lovejoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States