Tiramisu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
delicious tiramisu! i change the mascarpone cheese with uht whipping cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yulia dinata
Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This cheesecake was ok. I don't usually use flour in my cheesecakes (I've made and sold a lot) but tried it for this recipe. I think it gave it slightly thick texture instead of smooth and melt-in-your-mouth. I didn't have any problems with cracks. Here are my tips for avoiding cracks: do not overmix, butter the sides of the pan REALLY well, and cool slowly. If you butter the sides well, you don't have to run a knife along the edge when done. I try to avoid doing it because it sometimes makes the edges rough. A note on the pan of water on the bottom rack, this is not the same as a bain marie (water bath). A water bath envelops the sides of the pan with water and allows the sides to cook evenly. Putting a pan of water under the cheesecake will not accomplish this. If using a springform, the best thing I found to keep the water out of the pan is encasing the sides and bottom with a crockpot liner. Do not use oven bags (for cooking turkeys). They're unreliable with keeping the water out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was amazing, but tasted like cheesecake and NOT like tiramisu. I used at least 8 tablespoons of kahlua, and if I were to do it again I'd probably go for 3/4 of a cup instead. I used spongecake and tore it up into little pieces since I couldn't find ladyfingers - worked well. I topped it off with cocoa powder, whipped cream, and strawberries - definitely a pretty looking cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This fantastic recipe....restaurant quality! I did change a few ingredients for mine. I used expressso coffee and alot of it. I am a coffeee lover. I also used 2 containters of mascarpone and 2 cream cheese containters. I added coffee until desired thickness of batter. The lady fingers absorb coffee really well so i poured some coffeee over the top of the crust to add more coffee flavoring. Oh and you can use pound cake if you cant find lady fingers or want to save money. dont forget the whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very tasty ! I put 4 tbs of coffee liquor in the crust and 10 tbs in the batter. The taste was even better in the next day ( after chilling overnight ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe makes a really nice cheesecake, however, I agree with the majority of the reviewers in that it didn't taste like tiramisu at all. I put in waaay more kahlua than called for, but it still just tasted like plain cheesecake. A really good plain cheesecake though. I like the addition of the mascarpone to the cream cheese, might do that for other cheesecakes in future. I think it'd be just fine doing 2 pkgs cream cheese (instead of 3) + 1 container mascarpone too, going to try that. The ladyfingers made a really great crust. I had a package of ladyfingers that said 5.3oz and I didn't even use the whole package and it was more than enough crumbs for the crust. I'd also suggest putting the eggs in very last (put the flour first, mix, then eggs) to avoid the tempation to overmix the batter. I also knocked this down to 325F for about 50 minutes, let it cool in the oven, and I still had two small cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good but required much more chocolate liquor than listed to make a difference from a regular cheesecake, used 10 tbsp as suggested by others for the batter. Also, we used chocolate ganache for the topping which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas DiOrio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I added 4 Tbsp of Coffee Kalhua to the crust and 8 Tbsp to the filling. Otherwise, this was fabulous! The best of both desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Followed the directions exactly. It did not taste like tiramisu at all. It was more of a kaluah taste. which was allright, my husband still ate it but I didnt like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have any coffee liquor, so I dissolved 2 sachets instant coffee in 1/2 cup table cream. I don't see the point of making this cheesecake with a mascarpone subsitute... the whole point of a real tiramisu IS the mascarpone! Otherwise you just end up with a coffee flavored new york style cheesecake. I added some rum and vanilla extract too. A bit denser than regular cheesecake. Maybe halve the flour, cause the batter was so thick, even when I added cream in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States