Tiramisu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and love it. I do use vanilla wafers (not quite the whole box) instead of lady fingers. I also use a shot of espresso from starbucks instead of the coffee flavored liqueur. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was excellent. However, I had to triple the butter to make the ladyfingers moist. Not sure why that was. Otherwise excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Doesnt taste anything like tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I thought this was good but not great. I followed some others' recommendations and doubled up the kahlua. It seemed a bit strong in the cheesecake portion, although the rest of my family said they barely noticed it. Personally, I would cut it back to 3 Tbsp. I also doubled the amount in the crust, or tried to. I ran out of kahlua (used 2 Tbsp.) and finished it off with another 2 Tbsp. of vanilla. Big mistake. The crust had such a strong taste, it nearly burned my stomach. Should have just added extra melted butter. I also added a little cream, as the recipe states, since the batter seemed too thick. Wish I hadn't have done that. Even though I probably only added 1/4 cup, it seemed to have a hard time setting up. Also, instead of opening the oven door, I kept it closed. Seemed to help. And finally, I discovered that Stella D'oro makes Lady Fingers but calls them Margherites. But shortbread cookies or vanilla wafers would be a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was great! I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
A 5-star recipe with a couple of changes: 4 T. coffee liqr in the crust, and 4 T. coffee liqr plus 8 T. Starbucks espresso in the filling gives the cheesecake a perfect coffee flavor! Coarsely crumble lady fingers for the crust, leaving small chunks of cookie. The extra liqueur makes the crust soft, giving more of a Tiramisu taste and texture. I found mascarpone (made in Vermont) at my local Whole Foods market. It cost $4.99 for 8oz, as opposed to imported mascarpone-$15.49 for 16oz! The mascarpone makes this cheesecake, and is well worth it! I turned off the oven after 45 minutes and left the cake in until close to room-temp. It came out perfectly! If you want an easy way to remove the cheesecake from the pan, line the bottom with parchment paper before starting. Press the crust on top of the parchment. When ready to remove chilled cheesecake, undo the side pan, place plastic wrap and plate over top of cake and flip over. Remove bottom pan and peel off parchment. Place serving plate against bottom of crust and flip over. If you want a softer, tiramisu-like crust, brush some extra coffee liqr across the crust before inverting onto serving plate. I topped it with a layer of Ganache I from this site, soaked two lady fingers in espresso, cut them lengthwise, then in half again, and fanned the small strips in a circle on top of the ganache. I topped the cake with chocolate shavings and coffee beans for decor. This recipe was amazingly easy for such a beautiful and gormet dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Not like the tiramisu flavor I have experienced. Was more like Kahlua flavor. I did use kahlua for the coffee liquer ingredient which I think imparted a flavor too strong for this recipe. Used lady fingers for crust but I think I like graham crust for cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! Thanks for the recipe. Made this for my sister-in-laws b-day and she was in heaven. Notes: In my parts lady fingers come in 3 oz. packages - that is 12 lady fingers. I used 18 lady fingers (4.5 oz). Up'd the liquer to 4 and 4 and it was great. A dark chocolate / Kahula ganache on top made this divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. Huge success every time ive made it. Just make sure to add more coffee liquer or youll miss out on that extra coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made this cheesecake with a few variations. I used 7 TBSP of Coffee liqueur for the crust and 10 TBSP in the batter. For the batter I used 2 pkgs of light cream cheese and 500g of marcarpone cheese. I also added a touch of cream to the batter. THe result was a nice light, creamy texture to the cheesecake. I made some whipped cream which I used for the topping and sides of the cake. I dusted the top of the cake with cocoa powder and chocolate shavings. I had some remaining saviordi ladyfingers which I cut in half and placed around the cake. It was a great tasting cake with a nice presentation! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States