Tiramisu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Great recipe, i made individual cupcake size cheese cake instead of a 9 in one, and the cooking time is decreased to 20-23 min. I took the advice from several others who have reviewed and increased the amount of coffee liqueur to 4 tbs in the cake batter and 1 1/2 - 2 teaspoon in each cupcake (i used Bailey's)... I might add 2 more tbs of either liqueur or brewed dark coffee next time. The one problem i had with the cake was that it wasn't dense enough for me, it could be that i mixed t too much and it had lots of air bubbles. But either way, next time instead of adding 4 tbs of flour, i'm gonna add 1 - 1 1/2 cups of sour cream (idea taken from individual cheesecake recipe of joyofbaking.com) and see if the resulting cheesecake might be a little more solid. For topping i used whipped cream, coco powder, icing sugar and another two tablespoons or so of coffee liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Sooo rich but sooo good! I used vanilla wafers instead of lady fingers. I also used another person's suggestion on substitutes for marscopne cheese (cream cheese blended with cream), I used a regular coffee liqueur instead of Kahlua, I also used several more tablespoons and thought it could have had a stronger coffee flavor. I also 2 pie pans instead of the springform pan (smaller pieces were nice). And I had a espresso dark chocolate bar I grated over the tops. Both turned out perfect, no cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
The cheesecake was very good however I changed the recipe after making it the first time. If you are using an 8 inch pan I suggest using 3/4 the amount of crust and adding 4 tbsp of the coffee liquor instead of 2. I also added a semi sweet Ghirardeli 4 oz. chocolate bar to the cheesecake mix which made it taste even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Best tiramisu cheesecake I've made! My family begged for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I make this all the time and my family loves it. I double the liquor, I use Kahlua (my husband always says that it needs more) and I use vanilla wafers because I can never find ladyfingers. I love it and would eat it daily if I could just burn off the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktdeswardt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My first attempt to cheesecake. I chose it because my son loves tiramisu and my husband loves cheesecake. So I thought : what a perfect combo! The flavor was great, but waaay too sweet! Definitely cut some the sugar and leave out the mascarpone, even though it gave it smoother texture, it took away from the tangy flavor that I was expecting. Also the recipe doesn't call for baking the crust first, I substituted the ladyfingers with graham crackers and if you do this, I strongly suggest baking it for at least 15 min. I baked it for only 7 min, it really needed twice that. I also left out the flour as one reviewer recommended. I'll add it next time to give it more caky consistency. I served it with fresh mango and blackberries to cut the sweetness, still not enough. Could only have a thin sliver. All in all I think it's a good recipe,except for the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freethinker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
well......i got a big ol crack in my cheesecake. lets hope the boys at superbowl dont judge me. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this cheesecake tonight and it was delicious! I know I should have waited until tomorrow but I just couldn't. I couldn't find lady fingers so I made them myself with a recipe from this site. Instead of crumbling I made one big cookie in the bottom of a round pan and placed it in the bottom of my springform pan, punctured with a fork. I also lined the edges with ladyfingers. I took the advice of many and added more kahlua and I also took some strong coffee with a packet of instant French roast mixed in it, added mocha Kahlua to that. I then made a ganache with Kahlua in it and poured over the top. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakinMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The filling was very good. I think the mascarpone is very important. It has a nutty-ness that cream cheese does not, also it does not have the tang that cream cheese and sour cream have (do not overbeat the mascarpone or it will become grainy, I always beat the cream cheese much longer before adding the mascarpone). I didn't care for the crust. I make tiramisu quite often and love the lady fingers in that, but here it didn't work for me. I used more coffee liqueur than called for and needed a 10" springform rather than an 8 or 9" one. I always bake cheesecakes in a water bath and leave them in the turned off oven for an hour to prevent cracks. I think that overbeating once the eggs are added also causes cracks because the air is beaten into the eggs, causing the cake to rise while baking and then deflate leaving a crack.This is why I beat everything extremely well so that it is perfectly smooth before adding the eggs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
excellent recipe. I used more coffee liquor than the recipe called for the bring out that coffee flavor more. I also made a homemade whip cream to top and used instant expresso and more of the coffee liquor and it was simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naomi1025

Displaying results 41-50 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States