Tipsy Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
YUM!!! I had a few peaches that were not quite ripe enough to eat as is, so I sliced them, sauteed them in the butter until brown, added the brown sugar, vanilla, and I substituted spiced rum for the whiskey, and simmered for about 5 or 10 minutes. Served over vanilla ice cream. Delicious!!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I used rum instead of whiskey, and only cooked them for about half the recommended time. They were great as a topping for buttermilk pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Good tasting. Cook time way too long. Peaches were really juicy as fresh off tree. Had to thicken with corn starch. Like suggestion to remove peaches and let liquid reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
delicious! i've been trying to find creative ways to use the yield from our very prolific peach tree, and this is a great way to do it. i think the vanilla is a necessary ingredient if using whisky; it balances the flavour nicely. cook times seem to be a bit long; not wanting completely mushy peaches, i've cut the times given in about half. the sauce turns dark and thick at low-medium heat in much less than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Divine! I used Sothern Comfort, jarred peaches in grape juice from Trader Joe's and Haagen Dazs low fat vanilla frozen yogurt, and it tasted like a dessert from a restaurant. My guests loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Everyone loved this recipe!!! It was a crowd favorite and everyone loved the idea! I used a sweeter whiskey (Crown or even Southern Comfort would work) and at the end I even added a little wine just to cut the sweet a little. For garnish I whipped cream up with raspberries and a 1/2 tsp splenda for color and flavor. The cream turned out pink and had just the right amount of sweetness. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I subbed brandy for whiskey as I prefer the flavor. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it was wonderful; a great use for the bag of peaches I just purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very tasty! I would do like it seems most others are doing and increase the whiskey and omit the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaboj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Wonderful and simple recipe! I used 2 oz of Jack Daniels instead of 1.5 and also a pinch of cinnamon. Served with Vanilla Ice Cream and it was great! Might add sliced toasted almonds next time for something special and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Too sweet... may try again with less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

How to Make BBQ Peaches

See how to make peaches grilled on the ’que.

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States