Tipsy Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
AWESOME!! I served this tonight at a Memorial Day dinner and it was a huge hit! I did not have fresh peaches, so I used frozen sliced peaches. It still came out really well and cut down on the cooking time too. I cooked the sauce only until it started thickening, then added the half thawed peaches and stirred it all together until the peaches were heated through... about 15 minutes. They were still firm enough to cut with a fork. I think the whiskey adds a nice, nutty flavor, and we couldn't taste the liquor at all after the alcohol was cooked away. My husband said this is definitely a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Made exactly as recipe stated using Seagram's 7 because that's what we had on hand. I used peaches that weren't quite ripe for eating, and they were perfect for the cook time the recipe called for. We served it with vanilla frozen yogurt and it was delicious! The only thing I think I would change is trying different whiskeys/liquors. Would love to try with french toast as another poster did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Wonderful! Loved them. Served them with fresh homemade vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Used peeled nectarines (not peaches), and served with FF vanilla frozen yogurt. This really is crazy good, but I thought the fruit got a little too soft. Next time (you bet there'll be a next time), I'll remove the peaches sooner because they simply don't need 30 minutes in the skillet. This would be a nice topping for Greek vanilla yogurt or on a slice of pound cake. Or a nice topping for grilled boneless/skinless chicken breast. This sauce would complement soooooo many things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe. I was in canning mode, so I canned four quarts of this for gifts and for my family! Added a little more Jim Beam than they said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Easy and tasty!! We served it with vanilla sauce but I bet it would be even better with vanilla ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My husband could not stop raving about this dish. We didn't have any ice cream, so we just ate the Tipsy peaches. My daughter wanted to turn her nose up at them, but ate all of hers and wanted mine too! Wonderful! I'm going to try it with Brandy next time, as I think peaches and Brandy will go well together. Also, I'm going to try the same recipe with other tree fruit, such as apples, pears and maybe even plums. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These came out perfect! I used a half cup of the whisky and did as others suggested and removed the peaches while the whisky simmered. The peaches get soft quickly so very ripe peaches might turn to mush, use a firm peach. Great for guests, looked and tasted beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRAROGERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Wonderful recipe! We love fresh peaches. I add a little lemon juice, skip the vanilla, and add a cinnamon stick when simmering. For fun try putting a couple of jiggers of Grand Marnier over the top and lighting on fire! Peaches flambe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
We had a plethora of peaches on our tree, so I needed to find a good way to use them up. I doubled the butter, brown sugar, and vanilla extract. and used spice rum instead of whiskey. I removed the peaches before adding the brown sugar, vanilla and whiskey to let the mixture cook down a little, then I realized that the peaches really needed to become part of the syrup. I put the peaches back in and let everything cook for another ten minutes. The result was great. I served this with ice cream. My husband and I finished the whole batch in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

How to Make BBQ Peaches

See how to make peaches grilled on the ’que.

Balsamic-Glazed Peaches for Roasted Pork

Peaches caramelized with butter and balsamic vinegar are perfect with pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States