Tiny Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were great! I took the advise of others and cut the filing in half. I reduced the eggs, brown sugar, and butter by half, but kept the vanilla and pecan amount the same. I also sprayed the mini tart pan with a cooking spray that had flour in it and they came right out, no problem. They were a big hit at the New Years Eve party I brought them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Fantastic recipe - very quick to put together. I think British flour is 'wetter' than the norm as I had to add much more to get a workable dough, but other than that this is simply perfect. Baking time was only 20 minutes in our oven. Family and co-workers loved it. On the list to bake every Christmas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe to yield half of the original yield since I was just trying it out for my boyfriend and myself. The tarts taste great; it's a good balance of sweetness and crust. The only thing I don't like about the recipe is that, once baked, the tarts are not very pretty. The top looks like overcooked cake batter. My boyfriend says it looks like brown sea-foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have baked this recipe twice. The tarts taste good but they are difficult to get out of the aluminum tart pans. What the recipe does not recommend is that the tart pans be sprayed with Pam to allow for easier removal of the baked tarts. In addition, I found that the recipe makes a lot more filling than needed for the number of tarts the dough makes. I found this to be a tedious recipe to make, especially when I had difficulty getting the tarts out of the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making pecan tarts. I'm glad I chose this one because not only are they simple to make, they're delicious! I'm not a baker so the thought of making pecan tarts somewhat intimidated me. I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These are absolutely great, and super easy too! I make them all the time and everyone always loves them. My only suggestion is to make half less of the filing I always have wayyy too much leftover. Other than that these are great. The cream cheese pastry really compliments the filing so its not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
WARNING!!! These are extremely addictive! I seriously could not stop eating them when I made them for Thanksgiving and neither could the rest of my family. Definitely one of my favorite recipes! I only make half of the filling...it is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were a huge hit! I have a pastry tamper, but the dough just stuck to it, so ended up shaping the dough with my thumbs. Extra fiddly, but worth it! These are so silly easy to make, and so impressive for the effort you have to put in, I can see making them A LOT! I think I'll try freezing the balls next time before shaping, just until a bit more firm, but, can't fault anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCheshireChat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Photo by jaana
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love these! So delicious, flaky and buttery, and they're always a hit when I make them. My husband loves them, especially. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! My family enjoyed these mini pecan tarts. I used a muffin tin and all 8 oz of the cream cheese. It still came out perfect. I don't think I'll make a whole pecan pie ever again. These trump the whole pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States