Tiny Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carele Voigt
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Fabulous. Simple and easy to make and follow. All those I gifted these little tiny pieces of heaven to couldn't stop at one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carele Voigt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I really wanted to like this recipe. based on the other reviews, I was looking forward to a tasty treat that would travel well. After making them, I found them to be not very flavorful at all. The filling lacked taste. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khay23
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Best recipe I ever tried, we loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made 6 batches and had none left after Thanksgiving. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
While they were very tasty, this recipe did not work out well for me. There was so much filling (I believe it was due to the 4 eggs rather than two other recipes call for) that I made a half recipe of crust just to use it up...and that STILL didn't work out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by sarai
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've been making some other recipe for tarts for years, but this Thanksgiving I realized it was at my mom's house. No worries! The Internet will save me! I (wrongly) thought. But what happened next was so crazy I could hardly believe it. 1. I don't know if my butter was too soft or if the stars were aligned against me, but the pastry crust was so hard to work with. The first round of baking, I attempted to use a tart tamper, but it was slow going. I ended up painstakingly molding each and every one of the second batch by hand, with special attention to the load bearing walls and bottom of the tart crust, because: 2. when I got the first batch or of the oven I was deeply chagrined by the oddly sunken tops and burnt pecan filing surrounding my precousin tart darlings. I think baking for 30 minutes is a bit too long. After waiting for them to cool a bit, I carefully pried then from the tart pan, flinging more than one high into the air and splatting on the ground. Once they were safely unlodged from their nest, all of them had leaked from the bottom, leaving loads of filling stuck on the bottom of the pan. They looked burned. 3. Despite the hideous appearance of my I'll fated dessert, I decided to be brave and taste one. Flaky. Buttery. Sweet. Oh, and caramelized! They were delicious! (That's why I gave 2 stars here. If you're courageous enough to put one in your mouth, you will be richly rewarded). 4. I put the second batch in the oven, certain that my architectural at
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica U.
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I just made these for Thanksgiving and they are phenomenal!! I doubled up on the recipe since I wanted to make a ton, but it only ended up making 36. I used about a tbsp scoop of the dough for the balls. The crust came out fluffy, flaky & yummy!! I don't think I'd lessen the amount of dough next time. Just cut the filling in half. (Or in my case, just use 1 recipe worth)I had just enough filling left to make a pecan pie with the rest so it didn't go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
These don't work if you live at high altitude!! I tried and tried to make this recipe work, but even when I only filled the cups about 2/3 full, they still bubbled over and made a mess. (I could have filled them even less, but then they would have been pastry with a tiny amount of filling which would not have been good.) I finally came to the conclusion that the lower boiling point of water at high altitude (I live at 6100') was making these boil too much, hence the mess. If you also live at high elevation, my advice is forget trying to make these tarts and make Pecan Pie Cookie Bars from this site. They are delish and work every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great recipe and my family loved the tarts!!! Deborah M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Love! Love! Love it! This recipe is definitely a keeper, so glad I found it. It's amazingly delicious! I've tried 2 other pecan tart recipes on this site & they just didn't cut it. This one is by far "THE WINNER". The only thing I did differently was NOT add the chopped pecans to the filling mixture. Instead I filled the cups with the filling first then sprinkled the pecans on top of it. That way every tart had an equal amount of pecans for the bite, turned out perfect! It helps a lot though to make sure your butter and cream cheese are softened at room temperature for the crust. And though this recipe is super delicious it is also crazy time consuming just to shape the dough using only your fingers. I'd recommend investing in a tart shaper or tart tamper. Superrrr handy! Saves so much time. If you don't have one, roll the dough out & cut them with a 2" round cookie cutter & place them on the slots. So much easier to fix that way. Hope this helps. Thank you so so much for sharing this wonderful recipe for everyone to enjoy! This goes down in my books as a recipe to remember. ~EVA~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States