Tiny Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great tasting tarts! I halved the filling amount and omitted the salt. Just watch the time on these. I baked my first batch for 30 minutes (at 350F) as written and thought they were too brown. 20-25 minutes worked better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very Good. My one complaint is not enough nuts. I added more to my batch and they came out perfect. I would also warn readers that this recipe makes more then 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The time consuming part with this recipe was making the actual tart. Otherwise it is very easy. -Refrigerate the filling for a few minutes so it doesn't drip everywhere when you are filling the tart. -only fill the tarts halfway; during baking it increases in size. -Even when halved, this recipe makes too much filling. Next time i will use the whole 8 oz of cream cheese and add a tiny bit more flour. This way I won't have 2 oz of leftover cream cheese lying around and I will use up all the filling. -update: i made these again today and my mom suggested microwaving the butter and cream cheese for 30 seconds. they got soft and were easy to mix. but this was a really bad tip because the pastry was too soft to mold. i put it in the fridge and it became firm but while trying to mold, the pastry was very sticky. Better to let the butter and cc soften at room temperature rather than using the micro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe is so easy. I made 14 dozen for a cookie exchange. Very delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These were wonderful! A big hit this Thanksgiving! I only had a 1/2 cup of pecans, so I substituted the rest with chocolate chips...MMMMMMM!! I also took the advice to drizzle chocolate over the tops. I don't have a mini muffin pan, so I made these using full muffin size, which was great because the small ones are just TOO small for something this tasty!! I did have a lot of filling left, but next time I will just have to double the dough! A++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylocket1905

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
crust stuck to the pan whether you sprayed it or not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This turned out great! I screwed up on a couple steps, and I used alternate ingredients, but in the end, they tasted GREAT! My mistakes: making the balls too big, therefore I did not have 48 tarts. Also, I didn't adjust the cooking time for less tarts and almost ended up cooking them for too long. They still crumbled instantly when popped into the mouth - not hard at all! My alternate ingredients: Non-fat butter or substitute, Splenda brown suger blend. Still very sweet and flavorful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. these didn't last 24 hours in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda J.
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Love these tiny little cups of happiness! As other reviewers suggested, I cut the filling in half and it was exactly the right amount. I was hesitant about this crust and almost used regular pie crust. So glad I didn't, this crust is perfect and so much easier to mold and shape! Can hardly wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Very good! I made these for the first time the other day and everyone loved them - I used the suggestions of cutting the filling ingredients in half (eggs, br sugar, butter) and still had extra filling left over - but not too much! will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States