Tiny Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good...I made these for my holiday cookie exchange @ work, so I made 8 dozen (2 batches). I did have filling left over, but I did add extra pecans. A good way to do the dough is to measure out the dough on a kitchen scale (easy way divide in 1/2, then 1/4's, then 1/8's then each 1/8 into 6 parts. Then after you've made all the little dough balls, chill them, then when you're ready to make another batch, take them out of the fridge, flatten them with your fingers and press into the mini-muffin tin letting the edges stand up. Don't overfill them, they do puff up quite a lot and it's tough to get them out of the pan once they've cooled if they have overflowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
just like mom used to make,sweet, crunchy and gooey. excellent crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
LOVE these. Only one thing to say about the recipe itself. 30 mins bake time was too much. There were to brown. 22 to 25 mins max for these. Other than that, perfect. another small suggestion. you may want to put the "dough" in the fridge for about 10 to 15 mins before cutting into balls. The dough is a little runny if your butter/cream cheese is still warm. LUV THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Followed directions, I couldn't make balls from the pastry because it was too wet/sticky. It spilled over into the oven floor, and then I couldn't take them out of the pan..Totally disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xerrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Excellent, very good and easy. My dad, who is from the south and LOVES pecans loved these little tarts. Be sure to half the filling, however. I did when I made these and I STILL had some left over! You don't need a tart tamper either... just use your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was the best recipe ever.I am making them for my sons class and he has classmates allergic to nuts so I put raisins in instead.I also topped them off with a splash of sprinkles for color to catch the kids eyes.They weren't too sweet.The trick is to not overfill the tarts since the filling will expand while baking.I made double the dough too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
There was WAY too much butter in the recipe - it was overwhelming. The presentation of these is difficult to perfect. They are messy, sticky, and difficult to get a professional finish on. I am glad I made a "test" batch before the event; I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These are awesome! I accidentally added 8 ounces of cream cheese to the shell mix but it didn't matter. I would def. only make half of the filling...I had so much left I put it in a pie shell and made a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were really not very good; I am not sure why people like these. Overall, they're pretty flavorless. Also, as many people have mentioned, there is about twice as much filling as there should be. This is probably the most disappointing recipe I have made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States