Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was a big hit last Christmas. The filling is great in wraps and even tried it in savory crêpes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Very delicious... but so time consuming. They took me nearly 3 hours to make. I also had left-over pastry dough... so the next time I make it, I'll use a 3" cutter instead of a 2 1/2" one. Maybe even bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
My rating of this recipe is skewed since I modified it so much. But the pastry itself is excellent and easy to work with. I did cut down on the butter (3/4 of a cup) and I did refrigerate the dough while I made the filling. I used 3 chicken breasts that I sauteed in butter and white wine. I added 2 chopped green onions, a cup of chopped mushrooms, 4 slices of cooked, diced bacon, 8 oz cream cheese, 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese and some fresh basil and oregano. I also cut the dough into 4 inch circles using a baby bowl because anything smaller was too hard to work with and used up so little filling. I made a double recipe of dough which made almost 4 dozen turnovers. It did take me nearly all day to do this but they freeze really well. I popped them into a 400 degree oven from the freezer for 10-15 minutes and they were ready to serve. I served them with ranch dressing. II will make these again when I have another day that I can devote to cooking! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This turned out looking pretty impressive. My family really liked it, (especially the kids) although I thought it tended to the dry and bland side. Nezt time I will season the filling a lot more.---I agree it was difficult, however I got a lot better at it as I went along. I guess you need to get in there and play around to figure out exactly how to do it. Will defiantly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Worth the work. Although these take some preparation time, they are absolutely delicious. I made mine two days ahead, froze them, then reheated them for about 5 minutes. They were wiped out by our guests in no time at all. Excellent recipe! I will be making these again (and again..) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
add to taste dry sherry, fresh herbs, parmigiano reggiano, chili powder, and finely chopped portabella mushrooms. Important, roll pastry as thin as possible and if desired add parmigiano to pastry. Time consuming, but I froze them for last minute appetizers. Now, this is 5 stars and everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
These are fantastic. Don't mess with the recipe!! I followed it to a "T" and they turned out beautifully. The yummy buttery pastry is worth the extra effort. I made them several weeks ahead and froze them to use at a cocktail party (where they were gobbled up!). They reheated nicely and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe is delicious, however I made a few small changes that I think enhanced this dish. I added 1.5 tsp of chili powder and 1 C shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I also used my food processor to grind the cooked chicken which worked really well. I made enough for 50 people and had a little filling left over that was great for a spread on crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Alot of work, but very good, especially if you serve it with a honey mustard dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Added shredded sharp cheddar to the pastry. Also added cayenne and extra garlic salt to the filling, to perk it up a bit. Had extra filling left over--single batch only made about 2 dozen, don't think I rolled the pastry out thin enough. They turned out well, I took a couple batches to a holiday party and had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States