Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
You're a lifesaver, Amanda! We recently hosted a family reunion with 72 people attending, and I wanted recipes that I could prepare and freeze ahead. I found this one and considered myself verrrry lucky! I figured three appetizers per person. Not only did they taste great, but it was soooo convenient to prepare them ahead of time, freeze, and reheat the day of our function. Everyone really enjoyed these and several folks asked for the recipe. I ran out in spite of all the other food available!I added more green onion than called for, some fresh finely chopped basil and minced fresh garlic rather than garlic salt. Everyone really enjoyed these and many folks asked for the recipe. BTW, I cut the butter in the pastry back to 3/4 cup per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I made these for a babyshower and they were a HUGE hit with everyone alike, they were all gone and I DOUBLED the batch too. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added chopped broccoli, mushrooms, carrots and green onions. I made it the night before and froze them, the baked them the day of and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
These are excellent. I have made them twice for large groups of people and they disappeared fast. The first time I followed the recipe but the second time I cut back the butter in the pastry to 3/4 cup which meant I had to increase the amount of water slightly. The pastry was still very rich and delicious but it was easier to work with and a little firmer when cooked, which is no bad thing with how tender these turnovers are. Very much worth the time it takes to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
The crust tastes great and it is pretty easy to make. However, I find the flavor of the filling ordinary. I put some curry to make the flavor more exotic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I have 15 month old twins and found that this recipe was tedious. I would make it again but not often at all and not with the kids around. I guess overall the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I was short on time and made these for lunch with canned, refrigerated biscuits instead of making the dough in the recipe. They worked well but did puff up a little while baking, so it wasn't exactly like a turnover. The filling was very tasty. I'll try the recipe again following the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
These are awesome! I used leftover chicken from the night before and I just shredded it. I added a bit more cream cheese and seasonings. I also made the pastry circles larger to allow more of a filling inside and had to bake them longer because of this. Even my picky husband loved these and requested that I make more to put in the freezer for his lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These are great with about 1/2 to 1 cup of shredded sharp cheese added to pastry, and 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of ground chipotle or ground cayenne added to filling. Also added about 1/2 tsp of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I love this recipe but I did change it a bit. Like some of the other reviewers suggested, I did not use the full amount of butter in the pastry (I used a little more than half what the recipe calls for). They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
this recipe was awesome. i never worked with pastry before, yet this recipe was easy but time consuming. but i did alter the recipe. i sauteed an equal amount of sliced mushrooms to chicken with some garlic. i used peppridge farm pastry shells and rolled it out thin. before baking, i brushed melted butter onto the pastry. and i served this with creme of mushroom sauce. all in all, i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States