Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
What a great appetizer! Time consuming though...so be prepared. I used a fully cooked whole chicken from the super market and pre-made pie crusts. If you go this route, I'd advise rolling the pie crust out thinner that it comes out of the package...makes more of them and you can taste the filling more. I added slightly more onion, and actually a little cinnamon (by accident - grabbed the wrong spice!), and they were still awesome. I made 110 of them for a baby shower and froze them ahead of time. This is a definite keeper! I know I'll be making these again and again. Even my finicky 4-year-old loved them! She called them "little pies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this recipe this weekend for a party that I was having. Having read previous reviews, I knew to allow myself plenty of time to make these. I doubled the recipe, however I think I only needed to make maybe 1-1/2 times the filling recipe because there was a lot left over. I refrigerated the pastry dough overnight, but to be honest with you, I don't think I needed to. I reduced the butter to 3/4 cup per recipe. The dough became easier to work with the more it was handled. Also, roll the dough between two pieces of waxed paper, liberally floured. It is important to use a lot of flour because it is rolled so thinly. It took me 2-3 hours to roll and fill 65 turnovers! I made the honey mustard dipping sauce for these turnovers, and I highly recommend this. These were absolutely fabulous appetizers and well worth all the effort. I could not put them out fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This Thanksgiving my three sons cooked to give me a break...one of my sons picked this recipe...but he used Pillsbury Grands Biscuits to make it a little easier...the filling was delicious, but the biscuits soaked up the juice. I guess that's what happens when you don't follow to the T...All in all, they were good...just a little dry...But tonight he's making only the sauce and pouring it over chicken cutlets like a gravy...it was that delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I followed the suggestion of using ready made pie crust. I liked it, but 8 other people were not really impressed. Next time I will stick to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I followed the directions, but the dough just didn't work for me. They turned out golden, crisp...and super crumbly and a bit too salty. You couldn't even pick them up without crumbling- so much for the appetizer potential. The chicken filling is quite good though- I would recommend that part. I won't make again...not worth the work for the result. Thanks for sharing though- they seemed more appealing to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I did not think this recipe was going to work for me. It was so messy. The dough was sticky and wouldn't fold over the chicken. I finally put the chicken on the circle and added another circle to the top and pinched all around w/ a fork. Then I didn't think they looked very appetizing. But I served them anyway and tried one myself. The dough has this amazing buttery crispiness---it was delightful. And the chicken was well spiced, a wonderful compliment to the dough. If I could just get them to look good, this would be a 5 star recipe! I am giving this 5 stars because I want to try again. The taste is truly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These were good. I added diced celery and just used Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits instead of making the dough. However, I still had to flour a board and roll out the biscuits so it was still messy and a bit time-consuming. They seem like they may appeal to a lot of people so maybe I will try making them ahead and freezing for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
These were tasty little gems! I used 1/2 ww flour on the pastry and cut the butter by 1/2 and it was perfect. I see no need in adding that extra 1/2 cup of butter. I also made them twice as big as suggested so instead of tiny ones they were like toe pies. I brushed on some milk on the tops and there you have it. Great with tabasco. Very kid friendly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I often make these for my family using Pillsbury Biscuits. I just roll the individual biscuits out, add the chicken filling and fold them in half. The turnovers are meal size (as opposed to an appetizer...) and my kids love 'em! I use two 8 count biscuit packs and double the filling ingredients. I make a few changes depending on my mood (omit the onions for the kids, use garlic powder instead of garlic salt, etc.) but if you're brave enough to modify a recipe these could be altered to appeal to anyone's tastebuds. December 4th- added note: When I make these I roll out the dough in between sheets of waxed paper and I don't seem to have any problem with the dough getting too sticky or messy! I also used onion and chive cream cheese this time just for a change- didn't use the poultry seasoning either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I have made these great little bites several times and find that you can add and take away items of what you like. Be sure to prep the dough and refigerate overnight as it is easier to work with. Roll out the dough very thin otherwise the turnover is more dough than filling. I pinch the edges by hand and the flat side of the fork to ensure the filling does not blow out when cooking. I brush them with egg as well to give them a more golden appearance. These are a ton of work, I usually need an entire day in the kitchen from start to clean up. They are well worth it if you need a large yeild of bite size food itmes for a group. They are wonderful to freeze and reheat up in the microwave. I also make larger sizes for the kids lunches and thet love them. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States