Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I recently made these for a home show party I had. I did make a slight change...I used ground turkey instead of chicken. They were a huge hit! Everyone asked about them and munched them right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
The pastry portion of this recipe is absolutely wonderful. We add different veggies to the filling depending on what we have on hand. Be sure to poke a couple of holes in the pastry to vent so they turnover doesn't rupture and leak. When I'm short on time, I use canned chicken breast meat to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
OMG! These are so good! Filling and dough were easier to work with when chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
These were bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Followed others suggestions and added fresh garlic, used a pre-made pie crust, and added some shredded cheese (monterey jack/cheddar). Super great, and will probably make them again, with no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very good. If you know how to make pie dough, then your shells will turn out nice and flaky--it's all a matter of technique. One thing I will say is this: let the filling cool completely (or even chill it) otherwise it will melt your dough. I thought the filling was fine as is. Just what I would have expected for a chicken turnover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by country goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Hinesburg, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Oh my gosh, these are the best. When the only thing that the man in your life can say is umm, you know that you've scored. These turnovers are the best things ever for those football Sundays, and I have made them a little larger to pack for lunches. I have stopped buying those expensive hotpockets thanks to this recipe. I have found that you can also add a little cheese and spinich to the filling, and they come out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very Good! Made for book club, had left overs, was easy and re-heated nicely. Used crescent rolls for dough and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were very good fresh but I made them to send on a Christmas tapas platter I sent to work with a friend and of 6 guys only one really liked them. The report was that the filling tasted too much like cream cheese and bland and the pastry to weird. I may make them again without the flavored pastry and a few more spices in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Party guests really enjoyed this recipe. I made a couple days ahead and just froze them. They reheated beautifylly in the oven. Since they are a little labor intensive to make next time I will double the recipe. Also I noticed after I was finished making the recipe that I misread and used an 8oz cream cheese instead of the 3oz it called for...ended up being a wonderful mistake since it made a richer, creamier filing. I'll probably make the make same mistake (on purpose) next time. Also used premade pie crusts and rolled them out a little thinner. It took 2 crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States