Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I used a pre-made pastry for this recipe since I was short on time. I accidentally made the filling much, much too salty (I think it was my own fault though) and had to add more chicken and milk to remedy. Overall though, a great recipe and idea for appetizers. Turned out delicious despite my shortcomings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I found the pastry a bit hard to work with, too sticky & I followed the instructions to the "T". The flavor of it was good though, next time I will cut the butter down too. I also used this recipe as a base recipe to mini pot pies. I doubled the recipe, added a can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken with Herbs soup, cooked diced potatoes, and bag of frozen veggies & diced the chicken. Awesome "pot pie pockets".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEESAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was delicious. I'm sure it'll be the hit at my next party. This is exactly the crust dough I was looking for in a turnover. My search is over. thanks. Only change I made was using 2/3 butter in dough as suggested in the reviews and I used a 3-inch round glass to cut my dough because the 2 inch is too tiny for me to handle. It was ready to eat in 2 hours because it took 30 minutes just to shred the chicken. All worth it though. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Oh this was so good, Make more for dinner the taste is just creamy and melts in your mouth.kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This recipe was just okay for me. I found the pastry to be too oily, but the filling had a good taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was absolutely delicious. I made the crust per the instructions provided and it didn't take much time at all. To keep the fork from sticking to the crust while I was crimping the edges of the pastry, I dipped the tines in flour and that worked well. I also added an extra ounce of cream cheese to the chicken and it came out smooth and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
The reason the recipe is only 3 is because I "tweaked" it far too much. First of all, I used premade pie crusts since I figured it would be about the same as a pastry, and it would save me some time. Well the filling was far too dry and didn't have nearly enough flavor. I don't know if I had actually made the dough if it would have turned out much better or not. I may try and do it again and follow the recipe but the inside still needs more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made these for my holiday open house. The pastry was excellent. I ended up adding extra cream cheese to the chicken mixture and I'm glad I did, because the mixture was a little dry, even after adding additional cream cheese. I also added a little bit of salt to the chicken. This would be fun to experiment with by adding different fillings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This recipe was great. I did take the easy way out though and bought frozen pastry dough, cut it into squares and made little triangle treats instead. It was still delicious and the guests at my party loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
You're a lifesaver, Amanda! We recently hosted a family reunion with 72 people attending, and I wanted recipes that I could prepare and freeze ahead. I found this one and considered myself verrrry lucky! I figured three appetizers per person. Not only did they taste great, but it was soooo convenient to prepare them ahead of time, freeze, and reheat the day of our function. Everyone really enjoyed these and several folks asked for the recipe. I ran out in spite of all the other food available!I added more green onion than called for, some fresh finely chopped basil and minced fresh garlic rather than garlic salt. Everyone really enjoyed these and many folks asked for the recipe. BTW, I cut the butter in the pastry back to 3/4 cup per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States