Tina's Greek Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Really good! I didn't like the lack of a basting liquid, so I saved some of the pasta water from the orzo and combined it with a can of tomato soup. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made way more stuffing than I could fill in 7 medium peppers, but delicious and really liked not having to parboil the peppers ahead of time. Liked them a bit crunchy but flavorful, this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This stuffing is amazing! The recipe makes way more stuffing than you'd need for 6 peppers,which is fine by me because i like some on the side instead of a whole extra serving. I will par boil my peppers next time as cooking them the way the recipes says calls for a lot of oil and takes longer. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made with lamb, pretty good, diffrent than the run o' d mill stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Photo by teelaz
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Just got done making it and the smell was amazing! I loved how great it tasted! It does make a lot of filling but we will eat that with pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were awesome! I'm sure they'd be great as written, but I modified to suit my fridge and preferences. :) I used about 1.3lbs ground turkey I had, browned and seasoned in a skillet after browning the onion and garlic (less oregano and more basil than written). I made 1 cup (pre-cooked amount) of quinoa and added that when it was done, added 2 large diced tomatoes, a large handful of fresh spinach chopped, the can of tomato paste, about 2 cups of feta (we love feta and get it in bulk at Costco), and also added half a can of diced tomatoes because it seemed like it needed more moisture to go around the extra meat and quinoa. Cut 8 peppers lengthwise, rubbed in olive oil, arranged in 2 baking dishes (couldn't fit all the halves), salted and peppered them, then stuffed and baked for 35 min at 400 and sprinkled grated parm on top in last 5 min. Peppers were soft enough, and it was freakin' delish in a dish. Took one dish to a friend who just had a baby and she raved. Still had enough filling left over to eat plain (which was also delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Tina is a genius! These are so delicious. I used .5 pounds lamb with 1 pound ground beef (will either use all beef next time or still maintain the same ratio as I don't love lamb), and half an onion based on personal preference. To circumvent what everyone was saying about the undercooked pepper, I blanched them for 2 minutes each in boiling water then threw them into ice water immediately. After filling and baking, there was still some crunch left to the peppers but they were cooked perfectly. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the T and thought these were amazing. Also, this recipe makes a perfect amount of stuffing. Most recipes that require stuffing - you're always worried that there isn't enough stuffing, but this made enough to fill 6 green peppers (I always get them from Whole Foods - they have the most gorgeous, giant green peppers), and leave some loose for extra nibbling and round out that meal for the hubby. Most of the time I have to bump up a 6 serving meal to make 6 true servings for us, but this one is dead on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
if you want to make them lighter, skip the meat, just put tomato sauce inside or the inside of the fresh tomato..also it's 10000x's better if you eat the feta on the side. :-) I don't reccomand cooking it in Greek stuffed peppers..You can also make stuffed tomatos which are also great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Delicious filling. I took some suggestions and added pine nuts. Also, instead of two chopped tomatoes, I used a can of diced tomatoes and I think it could still use some more sauce. I added some dried mint and a dash of cinnamon for more Greek flair. This does make a ridiculous amount of filling, unless your peppers are gigantic, you can fill a 1 1/2 quart casserole easily to cook alongside. I've made this with lamb and beef, lamb is tastier but the beef is pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
A great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States