Tina's Fruit Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I would've given it two or three stars, but I couldn't even eat it! The caramel was way too sweet and the sour cream smell was overwhelming. The first time I made it I used white sugar because I didn't have brown sugar, and disliked it. The second time I used brown sugar without vanilla extract, and it wasn't good either. The third time I followed the recipe precisely and got the worst results of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I needed a quick fruit dip. I used a cup of sour cream and added about a quarter cup of brown sugar and then added a little vanilla. It was not thick, but the flavor was delicious. I just couldn't understand the use of the butter, thought it would be greasy, so I left it out. Possibly with the butter, it would have been a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very easy to make. I served it cold. It was extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpmerma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
So delicious and a great unique taste. People can't put their finger on why it tastes so delicious! Perfect especially as it doesn't call for Marshmallow Fluff which I never have in my cupboard if I am making last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for a get together and it was well-received. Did have some left over, but we had a LOT of food. The next morning, I used a couple of tablespoons in a fruit salad of strawberries, grapes, and bananas we had for breakfast and it was wonderful! Edit?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent sweet rich caramel-ly dip! This was very thin and runny when warm, but still delicious. I served this with grapes but I think it would be awesome with any fruit and probably would be great drizzled over cake, brownies, or ice cream too. It tasted like Kraft caramels candy with a little twangy aftertaste (I guess that is the sour cream's flavor). YUM! Thanks Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delicious warm but very runny. I threw it in the fridge to thicken. 11 year old loved it with bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is fabulous! I took this to a brunch and got nothing but rave reviews. I used it with pineapple, strawberries, and apples. It has a great taste and a nice texture. A new favorite, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I always get compliments when I make this. I usually just play around with the ratios and tailor it to my taste. I think there is too much of butter and sugar as many of the other reviewers have written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So delicious. A relative can't have chocolate... we drizzled it over a piece of cake with plain vanilla frosting and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States