Tim's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
After reading other suggestions, I put in 3 times the amount of cheese, used heavy cream instead of milk and did the Ritz cracker topping. This turned out to be the best mac & cheese I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Finleyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was my first time making mac and cheese from scratch. Doubled cheese as others suggested and added a bit more salt and pepper. topped with 1 sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers mixed with the 4 Tbls of melted butter. Will make again and add ham or bacon to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Easy to make cheesy delight. I used Gruyere, Fresh Parmesan and Sharp Cheddar and made the topping of 1 sleeve crushed Ritz crackers tossed with .5 stick melted butter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Found this easy to make and quite tastey. I did make a few adjustments. I added Gorgonzola, Parmesan, and a bit more Cheddar. I also used Italian seasoned bread crumbs with a drizzle of olive oil for the top. As for the comment on this being a runny sauce, I did not find that. The key was letting the flour, butter, and milk part cook long enough to thicken. All in all, a great recipe and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This went together quickly and tasted good. Be sure to cook the butter/flour mixture (roux) for at least one minute to cook away the floury taste. A whisk works better here, and when adding the milk and cheese, than a spoon. I used at least twice as much cheese as called for, and used extra sharp cheese for a great cheesy taste. To compensate for the extra cheese, I should have added 1/2 cup more milk to make the final dish creamier. On top, I mixed some more grated cheddar with the buttered crumbs and this was probably the best part of the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
My 10 kids love this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
Easy, cheesy, creamy, dreamy! Kids love it, adults will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Cooked the sauce as directed then added a can of cream of chicken soup, put in a dish, crumbled seasoned crutons (butter & garlic) as a top layer and sprinkled with melted butter. Put in oven for 30min. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Yeah! My kids will eat this! I've tried several recipes and they've turned them down. My children liked this because it didn't have mustard or onion in it. Plus, it had a nice crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
This was great! My stove was broken, so I baked it on my barbecue which gave it a slight smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States