Tim's Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this stew, it hit the spot! I DID decrease the oil-flour mix, and it thickened up just fine without it without tasting floury. I'd suggest making it in 2 TB increments to taste, that's what I did. Slightly more time consuming, but it got me a stew that was thick without a flour taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is fabulous. I didn't use the oil, just added the flour directly because I am just that good and it was great. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My husband is from Ireland, so I made this as part of a traditional Irish dinner (NOT corned beef and cabbage!). He LOVED it and said it was like something that would be served in a nice restaurant in Ireland. I used half of a 5 lb. leg of lamb (couldn't find anyhting else - it was great!) and froze the rest to use again. I doubled the beef broth since that was the amount in the container I bought. I think this was perfect with the amount of flour and oil called for in the recipe. I used a bag of Yukon Gold small potatoes (no peeling needed!) I also added 4 stalks of celery, a tsp. of caraway seed (not necessary), and a few more herbs (rosemary, oregano, basil, extra parsley, and sage - didn't have thyme, oops). Great recipe that will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Delicious and easy to make! My husband had 3 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good! Even my husband liked it and he is not a fan of lamb (or goat). I used cubed goat shoulder and increased the liquid quite a bit by adding 4 cups of water to the beef broth. I also added chopped celery, rosemary, and oregano. Then simmered it for several hours on low. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was a really good stew. Next time I would use a little less flour. I cooked it in a crock pot on high and increased the cooking time a little. Seasonings were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
A very tasty stew Tim! I used three tablespoons of the flour and three of the oil and it just enough to create a nice thick broth. I also added curry powder to give it a bit of a kick along with my usual garlic and onion powders. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Ordinarily, I am not overly fond of stews, but this one is really great! I can't imagine cutting back on the oil and flour as another reviewer suggests though - unless you like extremely watery stew. In any case, I've made this recipe several times as is, and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I add some water to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States